Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Monroe Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2014

A special education child (3 yrs old) walked out of the school building unnoticed and unsupervised, was missing for almost a half hour only to be found by a complete stranger. I'm not feeling overwhelmingly secure about this school whatsoever or their ability to ensure the safety of any of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

When you walk through Monroe it feels like chaos. The classes are loud and teachers are yelling at the kids and it doesn't seem like a loving place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

Monroe now is pk-6th and the 6th grade class is out of control. At times it seems like there is no control in any grade. This is our 3rd year here and we need to get out. The class sizes sit at 30 and there is NO discipline in the school and the bullying is outrageous. There's no longer ballroom dancing and no extracurricular activities and although there may be some good teachers, the school is graded as an F for math and reading test scores and I don't know how teachers can do their job with such rude and undisciplined students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2012

Do not send your children to this school. Teachers do their best and your child WILL get a strong academic education if they have good attendance, but it may not be worth it. The school has been under construction for two years now with no end in sight and an increasingly questionable contractor in charge. The new principal for the last two years showed up often in sweat pants and t-shirts and did nothing to lead the school during the trying time of remodeling. a new principal is there now but is busy undoing the academic failure of the previous one. The PTA is small, exclusive and secretive and does little for the school. None of the teachers or adminstrators live in area or even have their own children in OKCPS. Therefore, they take no interest or ownership in the building or the life of the school beyond their paychecks. Dumb decisions or unwillingness to act or correct something or simply do what is right regarding the school is met with the tired excuse, "we just don't have the money" There is litter all over the grounds and nobody cares. Rarely does the school send out information. Your child will have an extremely substandard elementary experience at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2012

This is our first year at Monroe. My experience has been great! The school has offered many opportunities for my child to grow academically and personally: science club, ballroom dancing, choir, and violin. His teacher is a delight and it is evident that she cares about my child. There are many opportunities for parents to be involved, too. We have found that the community is very supportive of the school, as well. What a great neighborhood school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

First year here, after relocating from a Putnam City elementary school. Our experience has been dramaticially different from other parent reviews. Our second grader is on her third teacher this year. First class was overcrowded, second teacher left after about a month. Communication is poor and inadequate. The school seems so busy, hectic, and disorderly. Not surprising for a school/construction site. I've picked up my children and their teacher's were unaware of their location. "I think they left in a car" was the response. Inadequate care, communication, education, and involvement. I'm not the kind of parent that is content on the sidelines. I miss Putnam city. Can't wait to return.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2011

We love Monroe! Our kids have gone here over 6 years now. One of our children stayed after school 3 times a week this semester attending a fun extra curricula science class and to a twice weekly ballroom dance classes. The uniforms have helped a lot this year with our getting ready routine. I like the emphasis on character building and treating others with respect. The ballroom dance teachers say that Monroe students are the most well behaved they have ever had. My kids always test in the highest levels percentile on their standarized tests and I must say that it has been Monroe teachers who are responsible for that . The remodel is underway and is going to really be a gbig improvement when it is finished next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

Our family loves Monroe and the dedicated staff. My children went there and now my grandchildren go there with 3 more to attend when they get old enough. Monroe just earned the Great Expectations Model School designation. The school has served for many decades as the hearing impaired school for Oklahoma City and all staff and hearing students learn at least some sign language and positive life lessons and compassion from these wonderful kids and their teachers. They recently began a really neat ballroom dance program that teaches things like respect, and honor as well as dance steps. I feel this site's 6 of 10 score based on test scores is misleading. There are students at Monroe who are low achievers and from more disadvantaged parts of the school's area map who may pull standardized test scores down. However, there are plenty of excellent students who are on or above grade level, like my grandchildren, and Monroe teachers who diligently work to serve both type students. The architect drawing and decor plan is in the office for anyone who wants to see the huge remodel project taking place this summer. Its a wonderful elementary school. Don't let anyone tell you different!


Posted May 15, 2010

Monroe has a fantastic staff! They truly care about their students! The principal is wonderful also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2009

In yr's past I was very happy with this school, however this yr there have been changes, and I nor my child like it there anymore, I've even been to the board about these changes. I hope they can get this fixed and back on track as a great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2004

My child has been in this school for four years. His teachers have always been very involved with the students. There also seems to be parent involvement also. I think very highly of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Monroe Elementary is by far the best school I have come into contact with in the past five years. Ms. Lawson is a wonderful principal and all of the teachers are very active in the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Monroe Elementary Program for the hearing impaired is wonderful. This will be my child's third year at this school. The teachers are so well-connected with the kids here. I really appreciate Ms. Lindeaur and her assistants.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

30 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 37% 54%
Black 28% 10%
Hispanic 20% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 17%
Two or more races 4% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4810 North Linn
Oklahoma City, OK 73112
Phone: (405) 942-4479

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St John's Episcopal School
Oklahoma City, OK


Sequoyah Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


Kirkland Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK



Madison Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT