Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Quail Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 411 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 22, 2013

During my 3rd grade year before I moved to Florida. A teacher literally told my mom to "go back where she came from" infront of the principle during a parent teacher confrence and no action was taken. That alone should tell you about the integrity of the school and if you know of these things and want your child there I feel sorry for you.


Posted September 19, 2013

Very Disapponited in the quality of teaching in the 4th grade. This has been going on for some time.. I hope and pray this gets corrected..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

This school has discriminated against us and my child, the worst school, shame on you. I wish there was a zero star. If your religion is not Christianity, don' tell them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2010

I love QCE..my grandson has attended QC for 5 years and the attention he has received is unbelievable. Dr. Matthews and the teachers are among, if not the best in elementary education. Parent involvement is huge. Every teacher has shown genuine interest in my grandson's success. And as for individual attention, ratings are off the charts. We have loved and respected everyone at QC and will miss them next year.


Posted October 20, 2009

Quail Creek goes over and above to provide the best education for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

I have three children enrolled at QC this year, and have been involved with this school for five consecutive years. The principal is superb! She promptly addresses every concern; the secretary/office administrator knows every child by name; the faculty treats each child as their own. The special education program is by far the best. I never dreamed that my children's learning needs would be so thoroughly addressed and that they would ever perform academically as well as they do. With the personal concern, commitment and genuine love of so many of the QC teachers for my children, they have soared academically! But they have also grown-up and matured in a healthy, safe environment, among adults whom they know truly love them. What more could a parent want for their young children than that?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2007

We have 3 children at QC this year. We are very pleased to be part of this lovely community of families in this school. Our Principal is wonderful and attentive to the needs of each child. The Speech teacher is the best, and the IEP program is personalized to each child. Most all of the teachers are very good. The outdoor buildings are dreadful, but soon to be replaced. The only dilemma is middle and high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

I have one son currently atteding this school and one son who has moved on to Middle School. Both of my children began at Quail Creek in Pre-K. This has been the best learning environment that money could not buy. My children have thrived and their lives and knowledge are foever enriched because of this school. I truly could not have asked for more as a parent. We proudly tell everyone that we attend and have attended Quail Creek. Thank you Quail Creek.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

They involve parents great when they are needed for volunteer help. Discipline policy needs work severely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

My son went to Quail Creek for 2 years. He absolutely loved it. The classrooms were relatively small with wonderful kids and friendly teachers. The teachers were patient and helpful - full of creative juices. He learned a lot and still talks about it four years later.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2004

I have two chidren at Quail Creek. This school is top notch as far as our family is concerned. The teachers work very hard with all of the children; and give them a lot of individual attention. We proudly say we love this school. Keep it up Quail Creek!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2004

I see an enormous amount of effort and input by parents at QC. However, the class size is much larger than I would like. My daughter's 3rd grade class had 25.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

I have a daughter that has been with this school now K-4th grade. Every year I am amazed at how much involvement there is by the parents as well as the teachers. Everyone seems to put 110% into these children. In every way. I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

37 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

35 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

47 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

47 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%

2009

 
 
98%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

39 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

40 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%

2009

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 91% in 2012.

40 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

41 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

41 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 54%
Black 15% 10%
Asian 6% 2%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11700 Thorn Ridge Rd
Oklahoma City, OK 73120
Phone: (405) 587-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St. Eugene Catholic School
Oklahoma City, OK


Ridgeview Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


Heritage Hall
Oklahoma City, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT