Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Roosevelt Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 634 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2012

Roosevelt Middle School is a school with a lot of potential. The staff is hard working and dedicated to the students of RMS. Being a part of a large and diverse district, the school is forced to accept many top down policies - some of which are good or the school, others which are not. The vast majority to RMS students are wonderful young people. The school (via the district) struggles to address some of the behavioral issues brought into the school by a small (but influential) number of students. As a parent, I would be somewhat wary of sending my child to RMS, not because of the teachers, staff, or physical campus, but because of the handful of students with serious behavioral problems, gang affiliations, and/or disregard for the educational process as a whole. In this way, I believe the school (via the district) is failing to reaching its potential as significant amounts of time, energy, and resources are being applied to a small number of troublesome students, at the expense of the wonderful students who make of the vast majority of the school. To label the school as Failing undermines the efforts of countless students, faculty, staff, and the RMS community as a whole.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 24, 2010

The news hit the world. This school let a 13 year old boy get arrested because he accidentely put some stripes on a desk while he was drawing on a papersheet with a permanent marker. Where is the justice in that???? Answer there is NONE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2010

A 7th grade math teacher at Oklahoma City s Roosevelt Middle School had a student arrested for using a permanent marker pen that made a mark on his desk. It appears that an extremely facist attitude is taking the place of ordinary common sense at this school. This type of harsh, insensitive approach to students is not what I want for my child.


Posted December 2, 2009

I love that they keep my son on track and offer the after school tutoring he really needs it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

the teachers do have a attitude and do not handle the problem the way they should.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2009

Well im a 8th grader at roosevelt and well they are really cracking down on us from my experiance in 6th grade it has gotten alot better its not the school thats bad but the bad students in it that make it look bad for you former students that have attended roosevelt 2 to 3 years ago alot has changed we have leadership classes,pep clubs, chearleading next year and student council we are really trying to make the school better for other kids that are coming so many people hear its bad but its not bad if you look a the chool deep down
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2006

Roosevelt, from my experience, is a terrible school. Not only did I attend Roosevelt as an 8th grader, but my oldest daughter attended Roosevelt. I was at that school constantly about teacher attitudes, lack of communication between school staff and parents, a less than safe environment for my own and other children, many different issues. Though Roosevelt is in my neighborhood, no way would I have put my younger daughter there after the experience I had with my older one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

Roosevelt is a alright school if your child is the type of person who is small and 'regular'. When I say this I mean that ever since I have enrolled my son into this school I have had to spend more time there in meetings than anything. First of all my son has been cleaning the cafeteria for the lunch ladies since school started! This angers me, because when I went to the school and spoke to the principal he told me that it was for the best anyway because he is bigger than the other children and he says that here the kids don't just fight they really get serious and since he is so big they will try to challange him! I think this is absurd. The school doesn't call when your child misses they have a machine and when called back 'NO ANSWER' whats the use? Roosevelt is/beyond Improvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
55%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

156 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

153 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 76% 14%
White 11% 59%
Black 6% 9%
Native American 6% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 197%N/A61%
Special education 216%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Barry Thomas

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3233 Southwest 44th Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73119
Phone: (405) 587-8300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Arthur Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


Adams Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


Van Buren Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK



Rockwood Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


Grace Christian Academy
Oklahoma City, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT