Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cooper Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 18, 2010

I totally agree with the homework situation. My daughter never studies at home because she never has homework therefore us parents will never know where they are knowledge wise. It frightens me because when our children are about to attend college will they be able to handle it? I don't think they have it hard enough....it's so easy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

I have been at other schools in the past and feel that the faculty and staff at Cooper do what they can do make the school atmosphere as positive as possible and to help students succeed. There are good kids and bad kids at Cooper. The only parents who complain are those who are not discipling their children at home or backing-up the teachers' decisions. So many times there are parents who work to get their children out of trouble rather than allowing them to learn their lessons and mature. When there is a child who constantly gets into trouble at school, you can bet the parent is as immature or volatile. But the parents who support the teachers and who work with their children at home are, for the most part, satisfied with the quality of Cooper.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

Kenneht Cooper is the best middle school in Putnam City when it come to the learning environment and also they know who to make school fun and exciting for the kids to give them reason to find fun and enjoyment in going to school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2008

I regard the academic standards as insufficiently demanding. Teachers do not assign remotely enough homework. If we use the standard of one hour per grade level per week, then teachers are assigning about 10 percent of what they should. Students who do not turn work get extra chances to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

We are new to Putnam City Schools and I can tell you that we are very disappointed in Cooper Middle School. The discipline is lacking, the teachers do not seem to care. The leadership is poor. There seems to be a lot of fighting among students and their remedy is in school suspension, where they go to a room for a specified period of time. We are not happy and are looking into private schools for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

The assistant principal is completely incompetant. The school does not respond to discipline in a fair and consistent manner. Their policy of punishing a child involved in an altercation regardless of their level of involvement, promotes more violence. All the children know that if you're going to get in trouble, even if you didn't hit the other child, then you might as well make certain and hurt the other person. The teaching staff does not do enough to engage the student and encourage them to succeed. The principal on down through the teachers do little to try and mediate problems. They refuse to deal with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

I have been very disappointed in the leadership of this school. Putnam City use to be known for its high standards and excellent staff, now they have lowered their expectations and reduced their staff to test passers for No child Left Behind. Kids are more interested in the ball teams than the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2005

My daughter is an 8th grader at Cooper Middle School. I have grave concerns for the level of security at this school. Often she comes home speaking of gang fights. This is not what I envisioned when moving to the Putnam City District. I'm greatly disappointed in the social standing and climate of this Putnam City School. I've been told it only gets worse at Putnam City High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2004

As nice a school, staff, and area...the huge, underlying socio-economic diversity and the racial tensions at Cooper are much too stressful for our child. She will not be going back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2003

outstanding school and school district. caring teachers and school staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
76%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

188 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

190 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 38% 10%
White 35% 54%
Hispanic 12% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 17%
Two or more races 3% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8001 Riverbend Blvd
Oklahoma City, OK 73132
Phone: (405) 720-9887

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Gethsemane Lutheran School
Oklahoma City, OK



Hefner Middle School
Oklahoma City, OK



Children's Center
Bethany, OK



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT