Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Oklahoma City, OK

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cooper Middle School 0
no rating

Posted February 18, 2010
- a parent
I totally agree with the homework situation. My daughter never studies at home because she never has homework therefore us parents will never know where they are knowledge wise. It frightens me because when our children are about to attend college will they be able to handle it? I don't think they have it hard enough....it's so easy.

Cooper Middle School 1

Posted May 14, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cooper Middle School 5

Posted April 13, 2009
- a parent
I have been at other schools in the past and feel that the faculty and staff at Cooper do what they can do make the school atmosphere as positive as possible and to help students succeed. There are good kids and bad kids at Cooper. The only parents who complain are those who are not discipling their children at home or backing-up the teachers' decisions. So many times there are parents who work to get their children out of trouble rather than allowing them to learn their lessons and mature. When there is a child who constantly gets into trouble at school, you can bet the parent is as immature or volatile. But the parents who support the teachers and who work with their children at home are, for the most part, satisfied with the quality of Cooper.

Cooper Middle School 2

Posted January 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Cooper Middle School 5

Posted August 16, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Cooper Middle School 5

Posted July 31, 2008
- a student
Kenneht Cooper is the best middle school in Putnam City when it come to the learning environment and also they know who to make school fun and exciting for the kids to give them reason to find fun and enjoyment in going to school.

Cooper Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 27, 2008
- a parent
I regard the academic standards as insufficiently demanding. Teachers do not assign remotely enough homework. If we use the standard of one hour per grade level per week, then teachers are assigning about 10 percent of what they should. Students who do not turn work get extra chances to do so.

Cooper Middle School 4

Posted October 12, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cooper Middle School 2

Posted October 11, 2007
- a parent
We are new to Putnam City Schools and I can tell you that we are very disappointed in Cooper Middle School. The discipline is lacking, the teachers do not seem to care. The leadership is poor. There seems to be a lot of fighting among students and their remedy is in school suspension, where they go to a room for a specified period of time. We are not happy and are looking into private schools for our children.

Cooper Middle School 1

Posted August 08, 2007
- a parent
The assistant principal is completely incompetant. The school does not respond to discipline in a fair and consistent manner. Their policy of punishing a child involved in an altercation regardless of their level of involvement, promotes more violence. All the children know that if you're going to get in trouble, even if you didn't hit the other child, then you might as well make certain and hurt the other person. The teaching staff does not do enough to engage the student and encourage them to succeed. The principal on down through the teachers do little to try and mediate problems. They refuse to deal with them.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cooper Middle School
8001 River Bend Boulevard, Oklahoma City, OK  73132
(405) 720-9887
Last modified Cooper Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cooper Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top