Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hefner Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1088 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 11, 2014

This school is very clique-ish! All they judge for is what you are wearing and if its name brand.If its not name brand then they will tease you and bully youand talk behind your back. The teachers arent really thatgood either.There was this one teacher where he was playing a radio station that was making fun of president Obama in front of the whole class.I would NEVER reccomend this school to any upcoming 6th grader!


Posted January 30, 2013

I go to this school right now. I do not like it at all. There is way to much bullying, fighting, and cursing. The school just has to many people fighting. Other grades always picking on you just because your younger than them, or because they don't like what you are wearing that day which makes no sense. I would not recommend this school. I'm hoping to move soon. I do give props to the teachers, and principals they work hard.


Posted March 22, 2012

I was a new student this year and Hefner, and it has to be the worst school ive ever attended, and coming from a military family, it was really bad. There is too much curse words used by teachers, lots of bullying, poor educational values, and the supplies are in bad shape. i hate it.


Posted February 7, 2012

I have a disabled child at Hefner. We loved Will Rogers and expected the transition into middle school to be fine but we feel the school is horrible. I think they need more training and more help. It would also be nice if there was one friendly or helpful person there. We are looking into moving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2011

I started school at Hefner just this year, and already love it. I've made new friends, very few teachers are disliked, and the education is great. All electives are fun and interesting. I haven't witnessed any bullying, or harassment at all. All grade levels are nice to one another and most is amazing. I would highly recommend Hefner Middle School to anyone :)


Posted September 27, 2011

This is our first year at HMS. I have been so impressed with the principle, teachers, and most of the students. Many of the students say "yes ma'am/ yes sir" and "no,ma'am/ no sir". When we did have a problem with some bullies,we followed the process & the priniciple got to the bottom of it right away. They do not tolerate anything but the best.They even realized my child wasn't being challenged enough in math and arranged for him to skip ahead 2 grade levels. In some ways, It's felt like we've been in a private school! I've had great experiences with the teachers so far as well. I am happy with the communication, professionalism, and great quality of the staff. The band teacher was exceptionally helpful to my son when he had questions. We love it here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

My daughter is a transfer student 6,7, & 8th grade to HMS. She loves it! We have had nothing great things to say about the quality of teachers and education she has received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

My daughter has been in this school for 1 mth we just moved from out of state, this has been the worst month, I have never experienced such unprofessionalism. I am so discouraged and so is my 13 yr old 8th grader. I have pursued issues with the putnam city north school district. The principle and vice principle are not understanding at all. The speech of the vice principle is that of a 5th grader. cant relate to parents at all, my daughter has been bullied harrassed and because of poor communications between teachers and students my daughter was placed in In school suspension,! i dont recommend this school to anyone I am disgusted! Nothing is professional about this school! The 1st day my daughter started there was a fire truck and an ambulance i shouldve known from then on this just was not the school for my daughter. They need new leadership! GO to CAPPS middle school please stay away from Hefner.!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2011

I attended 6th grade here and the teachers are good,students care about appearance too much and lunch is always good and healthy. I dont question why mother took me out of this school and in a new one though,I cant really say its a bad school in general but compared to my new school its bad. Drama is excellent,Band is good and Sports is crazy good,you feel a tremendous amount of pride when you go here and its sensational. I wish I could go back but my new school is good for education and I understand.I recommend this school only for certain reasons and tell your child that there is alot of following going on here if someone wears like a cool bracelet or something,EVERYONE has it the next day but dont worry,I never followed the crowd and Im successful here in the friends category.


Posted August 1, 2010

Hefner Middle School is a wonderful school I have been there for two years and is going on my third!! I am glad i am going to that school they have cool teachers that know what to say when you need them. Principles are all good they do what they are to do. The students are well behaved they want to have a good education don't you want your kids to? If so go to H.M.S.!!!!!!!!!


Posted April 27, 2010

Coming from a private school, we were understandably concerned about issues such as high-quality curriculum, student-to-teacher ratio, and safety. Hefner has put all our fears at rest and has far exceeded our expectations in all categories. The teachers, staff, and administration are friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable. Though the school has a large enrollment, it is run professionally and with no tolerance for misbehavior. The students and parents are friendly, and there is a true sense of school pride and community at Hefner Middle School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I love Hefner Middle School. Of course, some kids are going to misbehave. Its a public school, what can you expect? The faculty works and works to keep everyone in line. I think they are very professional and wonderful. Sure, some of the teachers are not the best. But again even private schools don't always have the best. Some of the teachers have changed my life. They are amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2008

This school needs to be shut down.The teachers dont care about the kids.If you wont your child to go to a good scool go to kenneth cooper middle school


Posted November 11, 2008

My child has been involved in Hefne rmiddle school for 3 years now. The expirience there has been educational and fun and all in a safe environment. The one that always complains are the ones that cause all the problems. I believe the administration, faculty and staff are all professional and deserve a lot of respect for some of the things they have to deal with. The athletic program is in tip top shape and moving up. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2008

The school officials are unconcerned about the students and more concerned about tenure. I would not recommend this school to anyone who asks. They are biased and unprofessional. It's just another day at the office, instead of understanding that these chilren are our future. The officials there are verging on discrimination.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2007

These teachers and faculty at this school are unprofessional. This school does not have a positive learning environment. I would never send my kids to this school ever again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

We have been at Hefner for 2 years and both years have been wonderful! The drama program is awesome and the band program is on the rise! If your child is willing to work the staff of the school will do anything to help your child succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2005

My child was allowed to graduate with out having passed only four classes in her eighth grade. She failed the prerequisites, yet the teaching staff did not inform us until it was too late. This school did not care that a child was failing and let her slip by. This school failed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2004

We have been very happy with our child's experience at Hefner. The teachers really care about the student's progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2004

The school provides a good education. The students are a little too 'stuck up'. By that I mean that many judge their peers by how much their clothes cost. But I guess education is the priority.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

260 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

272 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

286 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 59%
Black 31% 9%
Hispanic 9% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Native American 3% 16%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 157%N/A61%
Special education 216%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8400 North MacArthur Boulevard
Oklahoma City, OK 73132
Website: Click here
Phone: (405) 721-2411

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Central SDA School
Oklahoma City, OK


Cooper Middle School
Oklahoma City, OK



Messiah Lutheran School
Oklahoma City, OK



Gethsemane Lutheran School
Oklahoma City, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT