Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Harvest Hills Elementary School 2

Posted January 20, 2016
- a parent
My son is in pre-k and is having the worst experience, well in my eyes. He has learned a lot but his relationship with his teachers are ehh. From the NOTES that I'm getting.. he is coloring outside the lines. Can we please take a moment to realize they are 4 years old?

Harvest Hills Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted November 04, 2015
- a parent
We have only been attending the school for 3 months and I have not experienced any of this from the Vice Principal. I finally had to go to the principal which was great.

Harvest Hills Elementary School 3

Posted November 04, 2015
- a parent
All I can say is, if you ever have any problems or concerns do not waste your time on the Vice Principal. She is very cold and short and will only talk around subjects instead of finding answers. The Principal is great if you can get to her.

Harvest Hills Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
I currently feel the teachers assistant is much more effective with the kids than the actual teacher.

Harvest Hills Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
In order to develop respect in its students they need to respect their parents and their wishes, which they do not.

Harvest Hills Elementary School 2

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
My son attended two yrs at Harvest Hills, I also went to the school as a child. His fourth grade was terrible, the teacher called every day it seems like or the principal wanted him to be picked up! The teacher lied on him the first week of school and had other teachers and some of the staff involved in the situation. My son was very upset. The principal later in a the week apologized for it and said she spoke with the teacher. Since that first week it has been down hill. These teachers these acts as if they don't know what to do in a situation. This past school year was horrendous for everyone involved. Also if you see a black woman with a white man please do not stare its rude. I will say that there were about four staff members who really cared for him and want to say thank you!

Harvest Hills Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
I have two children attending HHES this year and could not be happier. I love the communication that the staff offers the parents. I have no complaints about the school staff or the curriculum. If you have an issue, the staff is always eager to help find a resolution.

Harvest Hills Elementary School 3

Posted February 18, 2015
- a parent
My child started going to Harvest Hills this year and she is in 1st grade. There's a teacher at the door every morning greeting the kids and parents but most every time my daughter and myself come in we have to say good morning first or they don't speak. Some teachers look directly in my face and just turn their head like they don't see us. She have been blamed for doing things she didn't do.Her teacher called her a thief on the slide and a liar. She also labeled my daughter as a bully, so anything she do is always magnified. Great curriculum but the teachers need to learn how to deal with little ones.

Harvest Hills Elementary School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
LOVE THAT SOME OF THE SAME TEACHERS ARE STILL THERE FROM WHEN MY OLDEST SON WENT TO SCHOOL THERE 15YRS AGO...

Harvest Hills Elementary School 2

Posted May 23, 2012
- a parent
Our son just finished pr-k at Harvest Hills. Our son's teachers (1 teacher & 1 teacher' assistant in the class) were horrendous. I've never seen people who outwardly appear to hate children decide to become teachers. Neither ofteacher teachers were warm or affectionate towards the children. Towards the beginning of the school year I watched my son walk into class (we were a few minutes late), and he was looked at and ignored as he stood in the middle of the room unsure of what to do next. The teacher then yelled at the students (who were not being loud or unruly, but rather sitting in their chairs talking and coloring) the way a police officer would yell to order someone to the ground. My biggest complaint is the security of the building. The doors by pre-k have been unlocked and propped open during EVERY visit to the school. I went to pick up my son from school a few weeks ago and the teacher told me, in a very unconcerned tone, that he had not come to school that day - which I knew to be false. After searching the school and asking other students, he was found on the playground. He had been unsupervised on the playground for who knows how long.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harvest Hills Elementary School
8201 Northwest 104th Street, Oklahoma City, OK  73162
(405) 721-2013
Last modified Harvest Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harvest Hills Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top