Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Putnam City High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 20, 2004

My daughter went to PC schools from 3rd through 12th grade and the elem. schools were great, but once she got to Central jr. high (middle sch. now), it was like she was invisible and at PCHS it only got worse! The couple of teachers at Central I'd talked to didn't even know her by name much less did anyone notice when her grades started slipping. By high school my strait A girl had lost all interest & hope. By the time I got a phone call, she was failing ALL classes and had ditched school so often they wanted to kick her out! No one had noticed. Also there was very little assistance with info on how & when to get a class ring, sr. photos, cap & gown, sat/act testing or college prep. 10% of the kids didn't graduate with their class that year. That's Pretty Scary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2004

I had two children graduate from PCO; one in '93 and the other in '97. Because of the classes offered, they both earned scholarships to ivy league schools. Both are now successful college graduates with advanced degrees.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2004

My son dropped out from PCO and my daughter is currently a freshman. They both absolutely loved it but the drop out rate is scary. She's going down a good path but then again so was he. They need to be encouraged more to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

I have had two boys graduate from PC, 2003, and 2004. We transferred and it was the best decision we made. I currently have a freshmen and so far so good. Great learning environment, Good Administrators, they seem personable, and caring, which is most important to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2004

Administration and teacher communication with parents could stand to improve greatly. Some teachers do better than others. The academics are above standard in most cases. I'd like to see the teaching of science improved in all areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

My daughter is a graduating senior this year, and PCO has been a great school! She's always had good teachers--some have been excellent. They have an exceptional gifted program and will also work with those students who need help with their studies. There's a lot of extracurricular activities so the kids can get involved. PCO has an award-winning drama team and choir. They've made state playoffs in football the last 2 years and are going strong. They took state in basketball in 2002 and placed 2nd in both 2003 and 2004. A.D. Burtschi, the coach and AD, is phenomenal. The principal has proved to be very supportive of students, parents, and teachers. The faculty wants the kids to have fun, but they believe in discipline and expect the students to behave themselves. My daughter and all of her friends are college-bound, so that should tell you something!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

My son recently moved in with us in Yukon. I had him transferred to PCWHS because of the block scheduling. I have found that his teachers care about his as a person and a student. I have had wonderful interaction with his teachers and found them to be cooperative and interested. My son was making straight F's at his old school. Now he has made his first A. His last 9-week grades were an A, B, C, & a D. His attendance was deplorable at his old school, to date he hasn't missed a day. Thank you PCW.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2004

As a parent of a transfer student in the district I am very pleased with the administration and teachers. Each child is afforded the opportunity to expand their horizon. Education opportunities abound. A motivated student can complete their freshman year in college while in high school by taking AP courses in their Junior & Senior years. Technology studies are also offered so a diverse education is available. Adminstration has a Parent Advisory and PTA that meets monthly. I would encourage each parent to become involved and attend these meetings. These meetings provide an opportunity to express your ideas and opinions while information on upcoming events are discussed. Your childs school experience needs your involvement whether at this school or another. Putnam City Orignal is an excellent High School and I would encourage parents to check it out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2004

If Putnam City High School's administration, quality of teaching, etc. was so bad, how come so many students who live outside the district are moving inside the district just so their child can attend PCHS? I believe the parents who are complaining, maybe their child has been 'in trouble' and they choose not to stand behind and support the school. Come on parents, quit whinning! Remember, our children are learning from us too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

Large school with not enough staff. Kids with problems are encouraged to drop out so they don't have to deal with troublemakers. I had five children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

Putnam City takes great pride in helping to prepare our young people to be productive and creative citizens. They work very hard with all the students to best meet their needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I have found that the administration does not care to communicate with or even interact with parents. Parents are viewed as a distasteful task that should be dealt with as quickly as possible and gotten out of the way. The attendance system in Putman City Schools is degrading to parents and students alike. When the administration stops trusting parents and will only excuse a child if an 'authority' such as a doctor or judge excuse the student the parent is left to feel like they are the ones back in high school! I am just grateful that I only have to put up with this broken system for 2 more years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

PC High is a great school. The freshman office staff is excellent and very helpful to new students and parents. There's a high level of communication from teachers to parents regarding grades. The orchestra program is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
74%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
80%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

233 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 39% 54%
Black 26% 10%
Hispanic 20% 13%
Two or more races 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 17%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5300 NW 50th
Oklahoma City, OK 73122
Phone: (405) 789-4350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Bethany Christian Academy
Oklahoma City, OK



New Life Christian Academy
Oklahoma City, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT