Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Putnam City North High School 5

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
I was very disappoint with the rating this website gave PCN High school. My children received their education through the Putnam City school district and they have gone on to college on academic scholarships. To set the record straight, I pulled information about the OK scholars from OK State Board of education website. The OK Scholars Program recognizes students who achieve a 27 or higher composite score on the ACT or 1220 combined reading and mathematics score on the SAT and accumulate over Grades 9, 10, 11 and the first semester of Grade 12, a minimum grade point average of 3.7 on a 4.0 scale or be in the top 10% of their class. For schools similar in size to PCN, I found the following information about regarding the 2015 Oklahoma Scholars.----> Edmond Memorial High School had 2,063 students and 75 scholars, Putnam City North High School had 1,978 students and 67 scholars, Santa Fe High School had 2,096 students and 63 scholars, Deer Creek High School had 1,159 students and 48 scholars, Westmoore High School had 2,101 students and had 45 scholars, Southmoore High School had 2,026 students and 27 scholars, Piedmont High School had 758 students and 19 scholars, Bethany High School had 503 students and 11 scholars. ---> These numbers are not based on some unknown criteria from www.greatschools.org. They are based on GPA and nationwide tests scores. The sixty seven scholars PCN had are comparable in number to high schools in Edmond. Many of these Edmond High Schools were rated top in the state by U.S. News and World Report. I am about numbers. On the internet, some had made statements about the academic performance decreasing from what it was decades ago. The past is in the past. Today, PCN is comparable in scholars to the top high schools in the state. Comments were also made about the school being like an intercity school in student population. The PCN student population percentage is not comparable to an "intercity" school (Google it). There is nothing wrong with intercity schools. Often, comments on the internet tell more about the opinions of the commenter, and not the facts of the school. One would be wise to check these comments for their accuracy. If your child is college bound, there are some excellent educators at PCN that will help them to achieve their goals. But, you and your child have to do their part!!

Putnam City North High School 1

Posted April 21, 2016
- a parent
As a former student of PCN, and now parent of 2 High School aged children, I was shocked an appalled earlier this year to see the overall decline of this once great school. As a once proud alumni, I was completely caught off guard by the current student environment, that now closely resembles one that would typically only be found in an "inner city" school. Has this area of NW OKC, really declined in such a rapid time frame? Test Scores, and Graduation rates are all so important, so that's great that 67 of the 1,800 students are "scholars," however..8,10, and even 20 years ago...the ratio of scholar students vs. overall students was actually much higher. (There has been a steady decline.) I will always love PC North, and have much pride, but it is not an environment that is suitable for my children. This once great school, is now taking a turn in a direction that parallels the once great John Marshall high School. Its only a matter of time. And its sad.

Putnam City North High School 5

Posted February 18, 2015
- a parent
My daughter graduated from PCN. She took advantage of advanced classes, the orchestra program, Key Club, and HOSA. She participated in LDI, the leadership retreat. This school offers so many classes, clubs, and opportunities for kids to grow that other schools can only wish to offer. The kids raise money to feed the hungry and provide Christmas gifts to those in need, do cancer research, and grant wishes of terminally ill kids.The support of the administration, teachers, and counselors has been great. They even have a college and career office. The administration does have to deal with students who make bad choices, but I've seen them do it with great care. My daughter didn't make the bad choices that 1-3% do, but if she had, I wouldn't blame those choices on the school. I suppose it's easier to blame a school who tries to help all kids than to look into what is happening within the home of the kids making the choices. This is a great school that still meets the needs of students and families. Bravo North!!!

Putnam City North High School 5

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
You get out what you put in. Our family is new to PCN this year. We chose to apply for intra-district transfer into PCN. My philosophy has always been "be the change you want to see". I'm not a "helicopter parent", however, I am involved in PTSA and I'm there to advocate for all PCN students. PCN offers a ton of opportunities for students (and parents for that matter). College prep (you can get up to 2 years of college work completed,* tuition free * through concurrent enrollment), work force ready curriculum, and leadership skills are a priority. Every club, student council, and even PTSA has opportunities for leadership development. Also, communication and access to teachers and administrators (for students and for parents) is exceptional. EVERYONE makes an effort to be available for tutoring and advocacy. When you ask, you get the help and guidance you need to be successful. If you don't ask, you don't get.

Putnam City North High School 1

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
This school is the worst one my kids have ever been in. My daughter lost her virginity in the school bathroom and when i took it to her principle he informed me that it was not the first time it has happened at his school. Needless to say my daughter will not return to this school.

Putnam City North High School 1

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
This school is just terrible. The teachers don't care about the students education and will pass you just so they can have a good passing rate and say "none of my students have failed!" They don't care. The counselors aren't useful, they don't help the students at all and there is a serious gang issue at the school. They really were doing well but they've just lost my respect. I've been forced to withdraw my student from the Putnam City North and move her to a different school and it's a shame.

Putnam City North High School 5

Posted August 17, 2012
- a parent
Students at Putnam City North have the opportunity to get an excellent education - selecting from 18 AP and numerous PreAP courses taught by excellent teachers with special College Board training to provide the student the opportunity to earn college credit within the safety net of the high school. Students have graduated from PCN with as many as two full years (60 college credits) from the AP program! Francis Tuttle offers its Biomedical and Engineering (also AP credit) programs as well as numerous other certificated programs. The State pays the tuition for students wishing to take Concurrent Enrollment during their junior and senior year. It needs to be said that the choice still lies with the parent and child. If they do not choose to take the most rigorous coursework offered, their learning will not measure up to that of the student's who did. Social and community involvement opportunities also abound at PC North. PNC is a treasure trove, and what the individual gets out of it depends on what they want! For those willing to challenge themselves and join in, PC North is nothing short of excellent! I am just grateful we live in this school's boundaries!

Putnam City North High School 2

Posted December 21, 2010
- a parent
The budget cuts have really made a difference, the once, high standards of learning are now, anything goes. Each year they cut back on something. This year, it's the education. This school HAD the potinetal to be and do something great for generations.

Putnam City North High School 5

Posted December 07, 2009
- a student
I am a senior at putnam city north high school and i really enjoy this schools activities and spirit! Even if it feels like it is immposible to accomplish it, the teachers help in all way possible to make u succed! i am glad to say in the future that i graduated from Putnam City North High School!

Putnam City North High School 4

Posted January 28, 2009
- a student
I am a junior at north, and ive never so much school spirit, pride, and dedication. I really enjoy the challenges in the classrooms, and will miss north after i graduate. This school is a great place to get a higher level of education and, and fully prep yourself for college. There is no reason or exscuse to fail at north and blaim it on the school or teachers, because everyone has a full oppurtunity. I am a proud panther of north and cant wait to have kids in my later future to send them to north!

Nearby schools

Putnam City North High School
11800 North Rockwell Avenue, Oklahoma City, OK  73162
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. (405) 722-4220
Last modified Putnam City North High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top