Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dennis Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2013

My child has attended Dennis from k-3rd K teacher was Great! Young, although very Educated Knowledgeable, in all areas needed in the classroom. Also very respectful, always kept me informed on how my child was doing grades, behavior etc. 2nd grade teacher was Amazing as well. Also young but Experienced, well Educated in her field as well, my child learned a great deal from both, We were pleased. 3rd grade New year new office staff was much better this year, Principal not so much! My child had some difficulties this year with getting hit on more this year, I am usually notified, and play a very active role so I went up to discuss what happen and the level of consequences, I find that nothing more than just a missed recess or 45min after school has taken place. My child has been Punched in the face, kicked in the stomach and choked recently, very lil has been done to rectify the situation to make me feel safe or confident sending my child to school. It is approaching the end of the school year and I hope the Principal, staff and teacher are on a path to furthering the children's Education, no worries in that area, Professionalism, Respect, Fairness and Citizenship needs work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2012

Unfotunately it is not quality that has gone down in schools as it is quality of parenting. Children just aren't parented the way they used to be. Either too busy, always on the run, or no parenting at all at times. I am a teacher and a parent and know that children are not raised the way they once were.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

I had to take my child out of this school because there was too much disruption in the classes for him to learn. All my other children went here and it used to be great. Quality has gone down tremendously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

I LOVE this school! I have had 4 of my 5 children in this school for the past 12 consecutive years. The teachers are wonderful and really care about the students. There is a lot of parent/teacher involvement. I transfer my children into this school because I feel it is by far the best Putnam City elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

This has been by far one of the most awesome school I had my son attend. (we have traveled around the world. We attended there 3 yrs ago, but I just found this site and thought so much of this school couldn't pass up opportunity to praise them. They help me identify my son's impairment. They even help me try to keep him off the medications. I really love you guys for all of that. Thank you so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

I went to visit and check things out. When I went to enroll my kids they said I would have to enroll one at Dennis and then transfer the other one. I filled all the paperwork out and when I went to check everything out the lady in the office was rude and had the biggest attitude with me. I walked out and never want to go back. HORRIBLE


Posted December 16, 2006

We have two granddaughters in the 5th grade. They love James Dennis and all the teachers they have had through the years. We just enjoyed having Christmas lunch with them at school. The educational background received at James Dennis has definitely given them a strong basis for Middle School next year. The girls are very good students excelling in their grades. Thank you to all the teachers and staff for the great job in educating our granddaughters. From two very proud grandparents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2006

This is a wonderful school! This school has more parental involvement of any school I've ever seen. It's wonderful how the teachers and principal work with the parents to better the learning experience for our children. They do a fantastic job! The extracurricular activities this school offers is also a plus. I can not say enough positive things about this school! The quality of teaching is superb!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

My two children have been attending for a few years now. It is a clean school with a lot of parent involvement almost too much. The staff and principal are also influenced by the parents with 'money' and treat them with more respect. This school could be even better if everyone would lead be example and treat everyone equal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2004

This is the best elementary school in the Putnam City School district. The teachers and principal work hard to provide the best educational experiences for the students. The teachers are very skilled and dedicatied to each and every student. The specials' teachers are top notch. It is my opinion that the parents are too pushy which hampers the educational process. I would recommend this outstanding school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I have had a wonderful experience working with the faculty, staff and students of James L. Dennis. They have an outstanding principal and wonderful media center. It should be the best Putnam City Elementary School.


Posted May 30, 2003

James Dennis is a really great public elementary school in many respects. There could be a little more communication between the administration and parents and faculty. Most teachers are very good and communicate with parents but standards amond the teachers varies significantly. Also the PEAK or gifted and talented program is very good but is not accomodated well by some of the teachers. It is a safe school with great parental involvement. They should do more to promote themselves.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 59%
Black 21% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 2%
Hispanic 7% 14%
Native American 5% 16%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 146%N/A61%
Special education 213%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11800 James L. Dennis Dr
Oklahoma City, OK 73162
Phone: (405) 722-6510

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT