Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Western Heights Middle School 1

Posted August 15, 2013
- a parent
I have never seen such an unprofessional school district. This is easily the worst district in the metro. Teachers lack creativity, any authority, or any kind of commitment to student learning, refusing to even assign homework because "students never turn it in anyway." Schools refuse to send home text books for students to study with. Administration refuses to work with parents, demanding that parents go out of their way for the school as opposed to meeting halfway and regularly talks to parents in belittling, even demeaning tones certain that there are no parents who know half as much as they do. Substitutes are underpaid and numbers are skewed to try to make the district look better than it actually is. There is a reason the test scores in WHSD are so low and once OKCPS actually takes over the district, the students and community will be better off...which is a sad thing to say given the poor quality of OKCPS in general. If you can, avoid this district like the plague. Putnam City Schools is just a little ways away and outshines most districts in the area, hands down!

Western Heights Middle School 5

Posted October 21, 2011
- a parent
I had 2 kids go through Western Heights Middle School for all grades. The teachers are great! One of my kids has Autism, and they were great for him, too! Previously, I had 2 other kids go through 2 different middle schools in the PC District. PC is AWFUL! WHMS was like a breath of fresh air. They keep parents informed. They are GREAT!


Western Heights Middle School 5

Posted December 03, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Western Heights Middle School 1

Posted November 14, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Western Heights Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
This school has been great so far we've been here for about 5 yrs. I feel that the principal at the middle school is to strict about the dress code i understand that the kids shouldn't look trashy or were gang related clothing, but my son wears alot of concert shirts and clothes with skulls i don't understand the problem with that. If he was a discipline problem thats one thing but he isn't they should just be happy that he comes to school everyday and actually tries in class and go after the ones that cause trouble when they show up for school.


Western Heights Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 28, 2008
- a parent
This school has really been focused on my kids education. they love the school. They feel safe. there might be some gang activity there but if so it isn't noticed like other schools. The teachers are wonderful, Princpal does outstanding work. yes they have been building on to the school., but they are doing this for our children.

Western Heights Middle School 0
no rating

Posted January 03, 2008
- a parent
western heights is more interested in how their school looks than they are in the kids. they are building a million dollar locker room but the kids have to buy their own uniforms and equipment

Western Heights Middle School 1

Posted December 05, 2007
- a student
I love this school the teacher here are great. I love it here. I lean a lot my fav teacher is Mrs. Campo cause she teach me alot.


Western Heights Middle School 5

Posted June 22, 2007
- a parent
my children love this school, the teachers are wonderful, we are buying a home in this distict just for them!

Western Heights Middle School 5

Posted October 14, 2006
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Western Heights Middle School
8435 S.W. 44th St, Oklahoma City, OK  73179
(405) 350-3455
Last modified Western Heights Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Western Heights Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews.