Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Winds West Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2012

I attended Winds West from 1986 till moving to middle school. I do not have fond memories of this school as a child. When I was in Sixth grade my teacher had the nerve to ask my parents to hold me back because I was so short, regardless that her supporter in the other 6th grade class was no taller than I was then. After that my Niece attended this same school they treated her no better.


Posted May 21, 2012

Worst school district I have been a part of. The principal is horrible and does not engage with the students. She "does not have time" to deal with them. The superintendent is mean and rude to parents. In addition, the education level at this school is horrible. Do your child a favor and pick another school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

We just moved into the area and I am very impressed with the school. I attended Winds West, myself, from the time it was newly open when I was in third grade until I went to middle school. Winds West was a great school then and it still is now. I am very impressed with the office personnel and teachers. The neat thing is that they still hold true to many of the traditions that were started when I was attending such as.. Square Dances, Land Runs, Track Meets, etc. They even have support groups for children with both depression and anger, something that I've never heard of at previous schools my children attended. Now that I have my children in Western Heights school district we will not ever change districts. Western Heights is one of the best districts in the city, they always have been and I'm sure always will.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

I currently have 2 children in Winds West, and I tell you that I have been very happy with their progress. With all of the extra burden put on the teachers, they have responded very well. There are so many other responsibilities that the teacher are being held accountable for in addition to teaching. They have to be a parent in many situtations. With the NCLB, the teachers are required to spend endless time behind their computers and testing that it takes away from the classroom teaching. If the requirements on the computers are not met, the teacher faces disciplinary action. I am not saying that it shouldn't happen, but be realistic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

I am very proud to have my child at this school. I have been very happy with the teachers and staff for 4 years. The only thing I see lacking is parent involvement. The teachers are not there to raise our children for us. Studies show that parent involvement greatly increases student success. I personally have never come to an issue with the school that I cannot get through by working with the teachers and principal. I understand there will be complaints with any school but sometimes we have to step back and ask what we can do to help as parents. Thank You to all the teachers and parents that work together to help our children succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

I have been so disappointed this year with the school. I feel my child is not being taught or learning anything new. We are moving out of the district to give my child a better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2004

I believe this school is run poorly. The children need better supervision. I beleive the teachers could get more involved with the children. I believe that this school needs a different principal. From the amount of time I have spent with my sons teacher I feel he needs to be in another class because I feel his teacher is lazy. This is my own personal opinion and will gladly speak with anyone on this subject.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2004

I really enjoy the school year that my children have spent here. This school has the support of the teachers to make things extra special. The PTA as small as it is really puts out a desire to give the kids something to smile about. It is nothing like when I was in school. I admire the faculty at this school, it is a great group of ladies to hand your children and their education over to. Winds West rockets soar!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

48 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 59%
Hispanic 32% 14%
Black 6% 9%
Native American 5% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 184%N/A61%
Special education 29%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8300 SW 37th St
Oklahoma City, OK 73179
Phone: (405) 350-3475

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Greenvale Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT