Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Winds West Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 18, 2015
- a community member
I attended Winds West after moving to a house literally directly across from the gym in 1986. I believe that the school was the best of the district during that time frame, and I have no harsh feelings toward the education I received during that time. Yes, I remember many classmates who epitomized the lower ratings seen for this school, but during my time there, I can't speak of many complaints. I wish the best for Winds West, and hold a nostalgic place in my heart for the time I spent there.

Winds West Elementary School 2

Posted September 07, 2012
- a community member
I attended Winds West from 1986 till moving to middle school. I do not have fond memories of this school as a child. When I was in Sixth grade my teacher had the nerve to ask my parents to hold me back because I was so short, regardless that her supporter in the other 6th grade class was no taller than I was then. After that my Niece attended this same school they treated her no better.

Winds West Elementary School 1

Posted May 21, 2012
- a parent
Worst school district I have been a part of. The principal is horrible and does not engage with the students. She "does not have time" to deal with them. The superintendent is mean and rude to parents. In addition, the education level at this school is horrible. Do your child a favor and pick another school district.

Winds West Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2006
- a parent
We just moved into the area and I am very impressed with the school. I attended Winds West, myself, from the time it was newly open when I was in third grade until I went to middle school. Winds West was a great school then and it still is now. I am very impressed with the office personnel and teachers. The neat thing is that they still hold true to many of the traditions that were started when I was attending such as.. Square Dances, Land Runs, Track Meets, etc. They even have support groups for children with both depression and anger, something that I've never heard of at previous schools my children attended. Now that I have my children in Western Heights school district we will not ever change districts. Western Heights is one of the best districts in the city, they always have been and I'm sure always will.

Winds West Elementary School 4

Posted February 16, 2006
- a parent
I currently have 2 children in Winds West, and I tell you that I have been very happy with their progress. With all of the extra burden put on the teachers, they have responded very well. There are so many other responsibilities that the teacher are being held accountable for in addition to teaching. They have to be a parent in many situtations. With the NCLB, the teachers are required to spend endless time behind their computers and testing that it takes away from the classroom teaching. If the requirements on the computers are not met, the teacher faces disciplinary action. I am not saying that it shouldn't happen, but be realistic.

Winds West Elementary School 5

Posted August 10, 2005
- a parent
I am very proud to have my child at this school. I have been very happy with the teachers and staff for 4 years. The only thing I see lacking is parent involvement. The teachers are not there to raise our children for us. Studies show that parent involvement greatly increases student success. I personally have never come to an issue with the school that I cannot get through by working with the teachers and principal. I understand there will be complaints with any school but sometimes we have to step back and ask what we can do to help as parents. Thank You to all the teachers and parents that work together to help our children succeed.

Winds West Elementary School 1

Posted April 20, 2005
- a parent
I have been so disappointed this year with the school. I feel my child is not being taught or learning anything new. We are moving out of the district to give my child a better education.

Winds West Elementary School 2

Posted December 14, 2004
- a parent
I believe this school is run poorly. The children need better supervision. I beleive the teachers could get more involved with the children. I believe that this school needs a different principal. From the amount of time I have spent with my sons teacher I feel he needs to be in another class because I feel his teacher is lazy. This is my own personal opinion and will gladly speak with anyone on this subject.

Winds West Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2004
- a parent
I really enjoy the school year that my children have spent here. This school has the support of the teachers to make things extra special. The PTA as small as it is really puts out a desire to give the kids something to smile about. It is nothing like when I was in school. I admire the faculty at this school, it is a great group of ladies to hand your children and their education over to. Winds West rockets soar!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Winds West Elementary School
8300 Southwest 37th Street, Oklahoma City, OK  73179
(405) 350-3475
Last modified Winds West Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Winds West Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top