Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Winds West Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
A grandparent came and we began to speak about our kids and she agreed and I did too on some things that we seen and experienced. I already Thanked Her she knows who she is!

Winds West Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
They are Teachers Of America (TOA). Very little education. They cant speak up to the parents due to losing there job.

Winds West Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
They said they give homework their own councilor said this. But we dont expect it to come back. Why give it if you dont even count it as part of the students grade. If I had expected this school to educate my children I would be asking too much. I almost pulled them out to homeschool due to them not being equipped to do so. BEWARE OF TEACHERS OF AMERICA! They are teachers that went thru a 6week training course to come into a district that is low income and offer very little help. They cant learn how to teach in 6weeks. It is a teachers boot camp . With teachers and a principal gone and the Superintendent not wanting to know what is going on what do you expect to get. I was able to pull my kids out of here Thank you JESUS before it was damaging to them completely. We only attent this school for 6months. I drive across town to take my children to a better school. I almost wasnt able to get into. I had a parent contact me to help them,because of the same issues I was having. Our children was in two different classes. I know she was telling me the truth ,because I know what I was facing.

Winds West Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
Only if you are a student of the school faculty! Some of the teachers are scared of being fired if they speak out what is going on. Bullying one on one teachers and staff bully one another so does the children. Kids pick up on things when they are going on.If you are a parent that will listen they will tell you. Parents beware of when your children tell you things. They are not just talking. I had a parent tell me I dont know how this school is still open. The district as a whole needs help. I had my children retested after they left this school. And because of the homework I was doing with them daily they have been able to stay on track.

Winds West Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
Teacher's are there for paycheck only. The kids learn from teachers how to be disrespectful to others. The teachers single out certain children they are only securing funding to keeo the school open. No compassion no respect the grades for this school is terrible

Winds West Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
The school needs a overall makeover of staff. The principal on the website is not the one that is there right now,so please dont look to her for being the issue. They dont have any issues if you ask them . Everything is good ,but I witness incidents that said other wise. Dealing with these incidents they will not deal with them. Because they dont want the parents to come together nor find out things are going on in the school.

Winds West Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
They can not give you direct answers to your questions. They will avoid the question and when asked for back up of information in writing it is not given. They will rush you into signing paperwork ,but when asked what it is about you are passed off to another person who can bearly answer your questions as well. Dont have me sign a paper if you cant even tell me how you conducted the results.

Winds West Elementary School 1

Posted March 18, 2016
- a parent
My children was doing great until we moved into the school district. The staff are unprofessional and teaching is just not there. They are a F rating school for the state of Oklahoma. They are there to only collect a paycheck and the Board needs help as well. If at all possible AVOID this school!!!

Winds West Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 18, 2015
- a community member
I attended Winds West after moving to a house literally directly across from the gym in 1986. I believe that the school was the best of the district during that time frame, and I have no harsh feelings toward the education I received during that time. Yes, I remember many classmates who epitomized the lower ratings seen for this school, but during my time there, I can't speak of many complaints. I wish the best for Winds West, and hold a nostalgic place in my heart for the time I spent there.

Winds West Elementary School 2

Posted September 07, 2012
- a community member
I attended Winds West from 1986 till moving to middle school. I do not have fond memories of this school as a child. When I was in Sixth grade my teacher had the nerve to ask my parents to hold me back because I was so short, regardless that her supporter in the other 6th grade class was no taller than I was then. After that my Niece attended this same school they treated her no better.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Winds West Elementary School
8300 Southwest 37th Street, Oklahoma City, OK  73179
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (405) 350-3475
Last modified Winds West Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top