Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Western Heights High School 4

Posted February 25, 2016
- a community member
I think there are amazing teachers at this school who have to deal with great kids and not so great kids and do a great job at it. Also think the concurrent classes are amazing. Two of my children went to this school. We moved from Mustang where they grew up. They loved WHHS and never wanted to go back to Mustang. One child ended up graduating with honors and playing college basketball on scholarship. The other one is graduating with honors, 9 college credit hours, a CNA license from Francis Tuttle. He will also be able to attend OCCC for free. This school is great it just depends on what work the child and parent are willing to put into it. If your child is lazy and doesnt do the work or even go to class then no its not a great school for them. But those kids working hard and trying to learn and better themselves love this school. This school offers great opportunities for those who try hard and want to learn. They have a great library for young adults to go to for help on an assignment, use computers, or get a good book to read. Or for the concurrent students to hang till their college class starts at 10. If you got a good kid who wants to go to class and learn then go to Western Heights.

Western Heights High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
They seemed focused on the students passing the 9 week benchmark tests. The students learn only to repeat information rather than develop their own opinions or have a true understanding of the material.

Western Heights High School 2

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
For a school so focused on testing their a-f report cards consistently show they need to change their teaching methods. In high school 70% of the student's grade comes from testing. 40% benchmarks which teacher don't even see until a few days before the test, 30% on teacher written tests, and the final 30% is on daily work. Constantly testing these children isn't preparing them anymore for their EOIs. If your child has any test anxiety I suggest not enrolling them in this school.

Western Heights High School 1

Posted May 21, 2015
- a community member
After the story I just saw about the young man severely beaten in a classroom with a teacher present, then a nurse doesn't call an ambulance or police. I wouldn't let this staff care for my dog, let alone my children!!!

Western Heights High School 5

Posted October 21, 2011
- a parent
I LOVE LOVE LOVE WHHS!!! They are great! The teacher TRULY care. I have had 2 kids go through all 4 year here. One of my kids has Autism, and they were a God's send with him! The Parent Portal is a secure online database of your child's grades, tardies, absents, etc. This always me to look up my kids ANY time.

Western Heights High School
no rating

Posted April 07, 2010
- a student
I went to this school from 1st to my senior year. As the times changed all the way to my 2008 year I have to say the teaching got worse. I felt like I was behind but as far as up to date buildings.. I think they are ahead of the game.

Western Heights High School 1

Posted March 02, 2010
- a community member
I use to go to this school. I hated it. I remember when i went to this school if you were one of the A-list students that means you got away with anything. The football team never won a game. The teachers didn't care if you passed or not. There were always fights going on. I remember that a boy caught a girl's locker on fire and they didn't much of anything prevent it either. I remember when the vice principal son and a friend got caught stealing from the school and all they got was a slap on the wrist and this was a couple of months before graduation. The only thing I like about this schoolwas the choir prog.

Western Heights High School
no rating

Posted March 01, 2010
- a parent
My husband and I both graduated from Western Heights as did our siblings and now our son is in the district and we just love it!

Western Heights High School 4

Posted January 28, 2007
- a parent
We moved here about 4 years ago and the schools been great. I hear people complain about it but they haven't been to the other schools in Okc its much better than the others. The only complaint I have is the athletics dept. they need to get their priorities strait. They pour thousands of dollars into a football team thats going nowhere and totally ignore a top ten wrestling team. Coach Knight does an awesome job with the team and they deserve more money.

Western Heights High School 4

Posted August 08, 2006
- a student
Western Heights definately has its strengths and weaknesses. As a senior and student here, I am constantly hearing the word 'rebuilding.' Our music department began rebuilding my freshman year with 60 people. Four years later, we are at around 35. Our science department has also been rebuilding its AP classes. To my knowledge we have not offered an AP Chemistry class in three years. This year we also seem to be 'rebuilding' in computer classes and buisiness as well. They are only offering the most basic computer classes. While Western Heights has great resources among its teachers, facilities, and tools, it still considers itself 'rebuilding.' We have great teachers at Western Heights. The entire faculty is amazing.

Nearby schools

Western Heights High School
8201 Southwest 44th Street, Oklahoma City, OK  73179
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (405) 350-3435
Last modified Western Heights High School is a Public school that serves grades 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top