Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bishop John Carroll School

Private | PK-8 | 205 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Oklahoma City

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $127,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2014

My daughter has a wonderful experience at BJCS! Her teachers are excellent and go out of their way to ensure the individual needs of the students are met. I also feel that the teachers do an excellent job of keeping me informed on my child's progress. The principal and office staff are always friendly and welcoming. I feel like I am always well informed of school events, and functions. There are also a great deal of opportunities for parental involvement. BJCS is a wonderful school and I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

Bishop John Carroll is School has been a great caring environment for my grandchild. The teachers are enthusiastic and helpful. They help foster a love of learning. The teachers don't just teach what is expected, they extend the objectives which foster higher order thinking skills. Excellent school, teachers, students, parents and administration.


Posted January 26, 2014

The school's system is very unorganized,the teachers and faculty are so rude to the students and this literally all happened when that new principal showed up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

I am glad someone finally speaks up and shares the same opinion with me about the school. I am disappointed with the quality that my kid is receiving consider this is a private school. Bishop John Carroll used to have good teachers but seem like most of them left since the new principal got on board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2012

Emphasis of BJCS is academics & character. Huge improvements & getting better: new science lab, library, & teachers. Ranked #1 in latest listing of OKC schools, & 1st PLACE @ 2012 City-wide Science Fair! BJCS is diverse, with a variety of backgrounds, demographic, and socio-cultural factors. Everyone s down-to-earth; no one cares what car the family owns, where someone lives, or what shoes they wear. Background, ethnicity, financial situation are non-issues. Differences are accepted & embraced. Size of school forces kids to interact with everyone. The result is that it feels more like a family; students are close-knit & lack the worldliness of some peers. Being thoughtful is valued; negative behavior isn t cool. Sending our daughter to BJCS in kindergarten was one of the best decisions we ever made. She s academically strong in all subjects & she get along well w/ people from all walks of life. She is a dynamic & confidant leader. Most important, she is caring & thoughtful. Eeternally grateful to their influence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

We've been here for a year and it has been a very welcoming and supportive environment. The academics are the same throughout all Catholic elementary/middle schools in OKC, and established by the Diocese. What's really set this school apart, for us, is the sense of community surrounding the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

I am very excited about the opportunities my children encounter on a daily basis at BJCS. They are surrounded by a caring faculty and staff who encourage academic achievement. The cultural diversity of the student body enriches the academic experience. As a high school public school teacher there is no place else I would rather my children be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

I don't know how the previous poster could say the education is sub-par! My son has learned so much, and loves school. In fact, last year was his best year ever in school. They have Spanish, music(taught by a Philharmonic cellist), computers, PE, chapel, choir, fine arts, and sports. What's more, many students go on to do great things in high school. The overwhelming care and support my son has received at this school goes above and beyond the call of duty. Fantastic school school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

Great Catholic School and has wonderful teachers. The school that you want your child to go to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2008

We have had at least one child in Bishop John Carroll for the last 12 years. We have had some normal teacher/staffing changes like other schools in the area the last few years. Bishop John Carroll has produced Valedictorians and students at or near the top of their high school class at several private and public highs schools in OKC. There are numerous outstanding students now attending Classen, Harding, Bishop McGuinness, and Mount St Marys and other fine schools that attended Bishop John Carroll. Our children have adjusted well to high school and were well prepared academically, spiritually, athletically, and socially for high school. They were given great opportunities to participate in Speech contests, Spelling Bees, Science Fair projects, Theater, etc. and sports that may not have been possible at a larger school. The Christian environment and individual support from the Priest, Principal, and teachers makes it worth the cost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2008

I am very dissapointed in the education that my son has received at this school. There seems to be many problems with school staffing and administration over the last few years. Because of the constant change in teacher and admin staffing, I believe the children have suffered. The education seems to be sub-par to the education that he would recieve in the public school system. It seems that he is behind in many areas. We have done our part by trying to continue his eduction in the home. However, it seems that it is not enough to replace what he is not getting through his time in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 57%
Asian 36% N/A
Hispanic 8% 10%
Black 7% 9%
Two or more races 6% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Oklahoma City
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 NW 32nd St
Oklahoma City, OK 73135
Phone: (405) 525-0956

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Edgemere Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


Dove Science Academy (OKC)
Oklahoma City, OK


Wilson Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


Gatewood Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


Westminster School
Oklahoma City, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT