Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St John's Episcopal School

Private | K-8 | 38 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Oklahoma City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2011

Our daughter recently start at this school for the 2011-12 school year. She has not been there long and already she feels at home and is always happy to tells us what she has done for the day at school. The class size is very acceptable at about 1/4 of the public schools, meaning she will be getting more attention and supervision. This is merely an intitial review, so i hesitate to give out 5 stars, but it does have the possibility!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

St. John's has been an answer to prayers for us. Our son is in the second grade here, and he has blossomed while receiving the enrichment and personal attention he needs and deserves. The faculty and staff are well-educated, well-trained, compassionate, caring and professional. Mrs. Emler is an excellent teacher, both in content and classroom management! We are extremely happy with our son's education and the high quality of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

I am a member of St. John's Episcopal Church and a School Board member. Two of my nieces and one nephew have all graduated from St. John's Episcopal School OKC and have all been at the top of their class going into 9th grade. Your child will receive an excellent and rounded education at this school!


Posted June 29, 2009

It truly was an act of god that we found St. John's. Our daughter started in their Child Development Program and is now in Kindergarden. Our son continues in the CDP. I cannot think of a better place our children could be - my husband and I feel safe knowing they are with people that honestly care about them. We love St. John's Episcopal School and CDP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2008

My son is doing really well at St. Johns. What I have notice most about it, is that the kids are happy and the confidence is very high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

Not a bad school, but it's nothing spectacular, either. The changes in personnel have hit the school hard over the recent years. The current faculty is nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

This is an outstanding school. It is about all of the good things that a school should be and the student learning environment is excellent. I rrecomment it highly.


Posted January 11, 2008

My name is Yingying Keefe. My husband, Juan Keefe II, recently reviewed Saint John's School. I, too, think that this is a growing school that is rebuilding itself to its former glory. I want to see it continue to become the great school we all have known it to be. I want Saint John's Episcopal School to remain an excellent school for many years to come.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 5, 2008

My name is Juan Keefe II, and I believe that Saint John's Episcopal Shool in Oklahoma City tries really hard to provide an excellent curriculum. It has a very dedicated staff, and the scholars who go there are really able to learn. The parents take an active role in their involvement, and this is also helpful. It's a pretty great school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 20, 2007

Saint John's School has had a proud history of wonderful things! I know this, as I have seen the scholars thrive! It has wonderful teachers such as Amber Chai. Rosemary Orwig also does a fantastic job. All of the faculty there perform meritoriously. I have no doubt that Saint John' School will continue to achieve greatness and will prosper even more in the future years.


Posted July 21, 2007

My daughter has been at St. John's since 2002 and has flourished in the small, caring, individualized environment. The older kids interact with the younger ones and all the teachers and staff know every child. My daughter was painfully shy and unsure of herself when we began, and her experience at this school has helped her become a confident girl with a strong sense of self. The academic programs are excellent, the teachers top-notch, and music, drama, band, computer, art, and P.E. are a big part of the school day. We wouldn't have her anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

St. John's is a wonderful school. We have one child that graduated last year and is now attending a college prep high school and doing fabulous. We feel that St. John's prepared her for academically as well as socially we were a bit worried that she would have trouble coming from a small school but she has truly blossomed in fact, we feel the close knit community and the Christian teachings have given her a very strong foundation for these very formative years to come in high school. Kudo's to St. John's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

St. John s has been an excellent choice for my daughter. She has been there since Pre-School. I only wish that the Child Development Program had been open when she was that age. I think the best testimony for the atmosphere of the school is that my daughter loves it. I ve never received a complaint from her about having to get out of bed and go to school. She is academically ahead of peers from other schools and everyone comments on her manners and good moral character, traits that are encouraged at St. John s.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

St. John's is a great school for small group instruction. The teachers are highly trained in their teaching fields. Our family loves the friendly and nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

Strong academics; Band and art are available and teachers excellent. Lacks after school activities/sports probably due to very small enrollment right now. For our family, the school is simply 'too small'. Teachers have a way of focusing on the littlest things - not especially healthy for the child. While this is a caring environment, it was not a good fit for us. The concern about enrollment and the potential for future grades to be eliminated also led me to move my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

My child is a graduate of St Johns. While it was a few years ago, I can tell you St Johns prepared her well for high school. The science and math background at St Johns were instrumental in providing the background needed for the honors/AP courses in high school. I cannot find the words to express the role the science teacher played in making science fun. My child has also done well in her Spanish, English and courses. I attribute the majority of this to the background obtained at St Johns. The small closely knit school family was a great choice for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2005

St. John's is an excellent parochial school. We cannot be happier with the education that our child is receiving. The school philosophy is to teach to the whole child, and is succeeding in producing well-mannered, well-educated, and knowledgeable students. The parent community is incredible - very active and friendly. The subjects taught in the school are broad and varied as compared to those of the public schools. The class sizes are small and the individualized education received is phenomenal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2005

St.John's has a lot to offer. Unfortunately there has been quite a bit of turmoil this year which has caused parents to look into other education choices. Bullying continues to be a big problem at St.John's. In regards to the faculty Mrs. Bishop,pre-K, and Mrs.Wilhite, 1st grade, are wonderful teachers. My family left after 3 years because of the increase in tuition as well as the change in administration. We're fortunate to have a great neighborhood public elementary school with a PTA second to none. My children's education hasn't suffered at all by switching to public school. In fact, I think they're more 'challenged/stimulated' than they were at St.John's. Yes, the class sizes are larger but that isn't always a bad thing. Classes that are too small, 12 kids, can be detrimental as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2004

St. John's has a well rounded set of subjects, an excellent computer lab, and first-class, extremely dedicated faculty and staff. The administration is dedicated to keeping students safe and maintaining a great learning environment. Although an Episcopal school, St. John's provides whole-child education with state accredited secular subjects. The PTO is very active with fundraising. There are many activities outside of school hours (Scouts, music/choir, etc.). Class sizes are small compared to public schools. The science classes have a great deal of hands-on labs. I've got two kids at St. John's (4th and K). Everyone smiles in the building, and the kids seem to be having a great time every single day. Tuition rates are less than the average rate around the OKC area; St. John's seems to be a great value overall. Bill Hensley
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2004

St. John's Episcopal is the school parents are looking for that provide the balance of academics with that of fine arts, in a nuturing and safe environment. Mike Stiglets is the epitome of excellence! He is the only Headmaster I know that can identify with children and their needs and turn right around and have an intellectual conversation with the parents. He is such a unique individual, and his love for education overflows into the classroom!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 54%
American Indian/Alaska Native 35% 17%
Hispanic 5% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Black 4% 10%
Two or more races 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5401 North Brookline Avenue
Oklahoma City, OK 73112
Phone: (405) 943-8583

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Kirkland Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


Monroe Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


Belle Isle Middle School
Oklahoma City, OK


Messiah Lutheran School
Oklahoma City, OK




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT