Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Hall

Private | PK-12 | 764 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Oklahoma City

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $127,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2008

As a former student I would say the biggest problem with Heritage Hall is that the students have their goals set too low. While most college prep schools ship students to Ivy League schools, Northwestern, Vandy, Duke etc., Heritage Hall lacks in this department. Sure 99.99% of graduates go on to college, but 75% go to OU. There are a few students each year that go to prestigious schools, but I feel that the average student does not aspire to this. I would attribute the 'public school education for a private school price' description to this. If the kids only want to go to OU, then why make the curriculum challenging? However, I did enjoy my time at HH, and considering the other education opportunities, it is one of the best schools to attend in the city and state.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2008

This is my first year at Heritage Hall and so far I am lovin everything... the teachers, ciriculum, sports, and people!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2008

It's a great school with stong academic standards and numerous extracurricular activities including a required community service program. My kids love the opportunities in sports, which wouldn't be available to so many in a large 6A school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2007

I think that Heritage Hall is a great school and has great leadership qualities! I love Heritage Hall!


Posted August 28, 2007

This is an outstanding school. We have been here for 5 years and would not attend anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2007

I graduated from HH in 2003. And I am about to graduate from college now, I do have to say Heritage did prepare me, but not as much as a private school should. I see others at my college from St. Louis private schools or others in the state, and from the vantage point I have we're a little behind. The school needs to let 1998 and other sports programs behind, this isn't Texas. The school needs to find more teachers like Dr. Powell. Heritage must care more about their academics instead of their sports, once they excel more in their academics they should start working on the balance with sports! The debate program used to be the best in the nation, then we won a state title...
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 5, 2007

The school does focus primarily on sports, but there should be some clarification on how it does this. Because this school is influenced heavily by obsessive parents, including the self-elected/governed 'board of directors', most of the sports programs are dominated by the more powerful parents and alumni. Teachers with poor qualifications dot the landscape at HH. Turnovers are high, and mostly due to internal power struggles in the overly obsessive administration staff. More than one teacher has vanished without reason in the middle of the day. Listen to the posts here HH - they speak the truth - only you can fix the issues addressed.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 28, 2007

As a member of the Board of Trustees at HH and with two children having graduated from the school I can attest to the quality of education, leadership and service opportunities as well as the many options available to students in the arts and athletics. We offer our students 11 sports with equal emphasis placed on girls and boys athletics. The school just completed a $15,000,000 capital campaign to build a new middle school and performance auditorium, gymnasium, improvements to lower school and an indoor athletic practice facility. Our students attend the finest colleges nationwide. Heritage Hall is great school and only getting better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2006

Contrary to previous post 'Education is public school quality at a private school price.' This is obviously a kid or parent of kid that couldn t hack it at Heritage Hall. The proof is in the pudding. We've had two graduate from HH. They were both very well prepared to go to college, one graduating from out-of-state school in 3 1/2 yrs and pother in Big XII schools now. One of the best educations in Oklahoma period! Athletics does need an overhaul starting at the top. HH is a bit obsessed with football due to winning one state title in 1998. AD needs to focus more on girl s sports, which are better overall This will catch up to him eventually. Security could be better too. Campus ingress/egress way to easy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2006

School is obsessed with athletics and raising money but little else. Teaching caters to the lowest common denominator. Education is public school quality at a private school price.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2006

Heritage Hall is the best school ever! I've been here since preschool and I plan to stay through my senior year. Sports and Academics are equally important. Teachers care about who you are, not who your sister was or who your brother was--it's about you and who you are now. So many different classes are availible! It's great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2006

Hertiage Hall is one of the best schools i could ever go to , each of my sisters get equal attention from every teacher. I also enjoy it because of all the cool new stuff they have a new gynasium and a huge new middle school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2006

I can't believe how into sports the school is. I have never seen anything like this. Sports are the #1 priority here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2006

All teachers, coaches are controlled by the same board president, 10yrs and counting so they all jump, as their contracts are renewed yearly this is very disruptive to all aspects of campus life, especially sports, the best will not play. Safety is not a problem, very expensive though. No band or other fine arts. Great sports facilities, but school only cares about varity football coaching in other sports is sub par.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

I like the preschool program at Heritage Hall. The teachers are caring and energetic. The kids enjoy the classes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

Heritage Hall has been an excellent place for my child. The teachers are wonderful. They are very attentive to each child's specific needs and are always available for whatever task. My child feels comfortable asking for assistance when needed. It has been a good fit for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2005

My child has attended lower school here and presently in the middle school. The lower school was excellent and academically the middle school is good but, there is no music program and it is completely obsessed with sports and building new facilities. The upper school has some music but not much instrumentally. Too bad for Oklahoma City when we have few options. Overall, this school is what our parents attended if they had gone to public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I am very impressed with the quality of teachers and the facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 58%
Black 7% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Two or more races 3% 5%
Hispanic 1% 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1800 Northwest 122nd Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73120
Phone: (405) 749-3001

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Greystone Upper Elementary
Oklahoma City, OK




St Eugene Catholic School
Oklahoma City, OK


Crescent Academy
Oklahoma City, OK



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT