Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harding Charter Preparatory High School

Charter | 9-12 | 474 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 10, 2014

Harding Charter Prep has been ranked by U.S. News and World Report as the number one school in Oklahoma. As a parent I can attest that this is an accurate ranking. I have two children one of which graduated HCP with 36 hours of college credit! The school is tuition free and better than any of the private schools in the area! This school saved our family so much time. I have never met a more hard working administration and faculty!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2014

Harding Charter Prep is an awesome place to be! I love the fact that all of my teachers care and are really interested in me going to college. A lot of my friends also go to Harding and they are all different. It is different and unique because that is something that would not be common at some other public schools, trust me I actually went through a little bullying at another school but here at Harding I feel at home and the faculty and administration here all show they really care. Yes, we have a lot of homework and you have to do a lot of studying to keep your grades up but you learn how to write notes correctly and study to comprehend and maintain the material. Besides, it will all pay off in the long run. I would not want to go to any other school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2013

This is a weird school. They do not say the pledge of allegiance and it's a public school. There are no American flags in the classrooms. No teacher phones or buttons to call the office in the classrooms. Excessive note taking requirements. There are not many electives or clubs available. Weak special ed program only one special ed teacher for the entire school which is not enough. Students are required to take classes that are too difficult for their skills set. It's a better environment than other city districts but in my personal opinion the Edmond, deer creek, Yukon and mustang public school districts are much better than this school.


Posted November 10, 2013

I am a student at HCP and this school has robbed me of my youth. They discourage all creativity and uniqueness. While the classes are educational and may help me with college, the workload is unbearable. I have a job, and juggling the two results in a maximum of five hours of sleep per night and absolutely no time with friends. Some of the staff is caring, but many teachers only care about getting you to pass the AP test and could care less about if you are really learning or enjoying yourself. I recommend that prospecting students choose a regular public high school and take advanced classes and do well there than go to HCP where your grades will fall, scholarships will seem unachievable, and having fun just isn't an option. I love the idea Harding represents but it has made me miserable and I regret going there with all of my being.


Posted May 27, 2012

I am the parent of 3 HCP graduates and we have been there since very close to the beginning. While not perfect (no place is) it is as close as any high school in OKC gets. The academics are solid with teachers who really do care about the student. It is possible to call and actually talk with the administrators/teachers and they know who you are. Parental involvement is actually encouraged instead discouraged like at most high schools (I don't care what they say in the media, most high schools want the parents to leave them alone) and your constructive input is welcome. The parent group is active and has significantly contributed to the physical upkeep and repair of the school. It is a nice, nerdy school where the emphasis is on academics and bullying is just not tolerated by the students - the few times it started the other students just shut it down. All 3 of mine are now at top name out of state universities and are doing well. The writing teachers have all told them to thank their HS English teachers for making them so well prepared. I cannot recommend HCP highly enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2011

I am currently a senior at HCP. I started going to Harding as a freshman because I knew the high school I was going to attend wouldn't be challenging enough. I found it very difficult to keep my grades up the first year because I had never experienced having to work hard for something. Harding taught me that you can't have things handed to you if you want to succeed. The teachers have been very helpful with personal issues. I have had trouble with peer pressure and they have kept me on the right track. They know every student on a personal level and a teacher's biggest concern is a student's safety and success. I have never had an incident where a teacher has bullied me but I may add that if a student respects a teacher, then a teacher will respect the student. Parents that feel their kid is being worked too hard are right: THEY ARE. Its worth it in the long run though, so stick it out. As to give the school a bad rating for being challenging? Well, that is just plain silly. Isn't that what schools are for; push our educational limits? HCP didn't become ranked #68 in the nation for not pushing the limits. This is hands down the best school in Oklahoma as well as one of USA's best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2010

The academics are decent, considering the state of education today. However, we pulled our child out because of bullying from a teacher that was allowed to continue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

This is school is excellent. I never had any problems whatsoever and my kids love the school, the teachers, principal and everybody who make that school is a wonderful place. The AP courses are pretty hard, that's because they prepare your kid to be ready for college. But there's nothing could help your kids more better than prepare them to compete in this tough world. Thanks for the effort to each one of you to make this school to be a better place for our children. I think this school is one of the best in Oklahoma. Go Harding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2010

I am currently a Sophomore at HCP. I transferred there at the beginning of 10th grade, and didn't know anybody else. Almost immediately, I found the students there to be some of the nicest and most inclusive people I have ever met. While the course load is hard, it is hard only because they expect the best out of each student. If you're having difficulty with anything, including social or family issues, the teachers are always helpful and caring. The class sizes are small enough that the teachers know every student, and nobody falls through the cracks; however, the classes are large enough that, for the most part, you can find other people interested in the same things as you. The parents and alumni are extremely involved and help to make the school its best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2010

This school is terrible. They work their students too hard and bullying is an issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2009

This school is the worst school i have ever put one of my kids in. Im glad i changed my mind and chose to put her in Dove Science Academy. This school's academics are lacking, and it has a serious bullying issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

Great school. My son is a junior and he is getting an excellent college prep education and excited about his high school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2009

So, i just graduated with the best class to ever walk the HCP halls...Class of 2009... to be honest,everyone who goes and graduates from this school should brag about it. We were privileged to have gotten the chance to go there. Those who are still going there either hates or loves it right now. By the end of their senior year they will understand why they chose or were force to stay at this school. I think when we try to explain to other people what our school is about to other people,they dont understand. They dont understand how lives change,how tough the classes are, or how much drama and stress goes on.Each class has a certain difficulty level. Our school is the best school out there, although we dont have much. With the love from our staff,classmates, and beloved principal..We have it all...
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2009

Harding class sizes are small which make it hard for any student to fall through the cracks. My child has homework every night but he is learning a tremendous amount. It really prepares them for college. They do semester test and numerous reports. If you have a problem - the principle corrects it immediately. I had a couple of questions about some assignments- the teacher was called to the meeting and prob was resolved quickly. The only thing I would like to see changed it their baseball program. It has improved from last year and is getting better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

I think Harding Charter Prep is a great school for any child to go to not only does it get the children involved in the school and their education but also the parents.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2009

I am currently a student of Harding's 2011 graduating class. When I began to attend Harding last year, I instantly fit in and made new friends. Harding has since become like a second home to me and I look forward to going to school everyday. I especially love the teachers at Harding. I would say that they are some of the finest teachers in Oklahoma and their rigerous classes defenantly prepare you for success. Mr. Caram is an amazing principal and is very dedicated to his school and students. When going to Harding, no matter what grade you are in, you feel accepted and loved by all of the student body and faculty and they become a kind of family to you. I don't know what I would do without Harding and the amazing experiences I have gained from it. I will always be proud to be an Eagle!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2009

I am a senior at Harding and will in the graduating class of 2009. Harding has prepared me greatly for college and for life. I have been here for 4 years and I would not have picked a better to go to. I owe my success to Harding. The teachers are more than willing to help the students The class sizes are small so it offers a closer environment between students and teachers. I would refer Harding to any parent or student!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2009

I'm currently a freshman at HCP and I absolutely love it! I was very nervous about starting HS, but everyone is so nice and helpful I can't imagine going to a different school. It's a wonderful place to learn because teachers and other students are willing to help you if you ask. I love being an eagle!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2008

I am currently a Junior at Harding, and it has given me some of the greatest educational experiences ever. I suggest to every parent in the Oklahoma City area to send their child to Harding.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 3, 2008

I am a graduate of Harding Charter Preparatory's Class of 2008; I spent all four of my high school years at Harding and absolutely loved every second of being a student. The curriculum provided by Harding, without a doubt, prepares students to meet the rigors of college curriculum and will give students a leg up in their freshman year of college. The academics were definitely challenging but if a student is prepared to work hard and is willing to meet the standards set by Harding, then they will succeed. The best part of Harding though, was the teachers. Mr. Caram did a spectacular job in finding the best and most dedicated teachers around. They are what I will miss most. It is obvious the immense ammount of progress Harding has made in just these few short years that it's been around; I can't wait to see the improvements in coming years!-IPS
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 59%
Black 31% 9%
Hispanic 17% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Native American 3% 16%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 142%N/A61%
Male 147%N/A51%
Special education 23%N/A15%
Female 153%N/A49%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Justin Hunt
Fax number
  • (405) 556-5063

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3333 North Shartel
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
Website: Click here
Phone: (405) 528-0562

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Harding Fine Arts Academy
Oklahoma City, OK


Trinity School
Oklahoma City, OK


Dove Science Academy (OKC)
Oklahoma City, OK




The Keystone School
Oklahoma City, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT