Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Providence Hall

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Oklahoma City

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $190,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2011

Great school! Our family has been more than pleased with the education our children are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2011

This school prepares students for college- but is more than a prep school; as it prepares students to be life learners. It is a Christian school but more than a religious institution; yet every subject is taught in the knowledge of Christ. It is classical- yet more than schooling students in Greek and Latin. Providence Hall covers all disciplines in the classical tradition while educating everyday students in an extraordinary way. I am constantly asked is this a school for the highly gifted? For the elite? Absolutely not, although, the education received here at this school is first class. Our family wholeheartedly recommends Providence Hall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

Outstanding accelerated curriculum in a Christian environment. The children begin formal Latin studies in 3rd grade along with the other traditional disciplines. If a child is behind at another school after being educated here; this child would be an exception, and there would certainly be other issues at play and a parent would need to investigate other reasons for this. The students at Providence Hall quickly surpass their age mates in knowledge, conduct of character, wisdom, college preparedness. Once you visit this school and witness the students for yourself; there will be no question of the caliber of education offered at this school. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

If ever given the opportunity to educate your child classically.. jump in with both feet! It is a fascinating way to learn and you will find yourself yearning to have been classically educated yourselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

I resent the comment about robots and perfect little children only attending PH. My family loves PH - my children get up everyday ready to go to school and they come home just fine. I believe that respect, manners, and discipline begin in the home. The school shows consistence in discipline and 'yes' the children are expected to follow rules. Real life expects you to follow rules and some rules and you don't totally agree with, but living in this society, you must follow. The best time to start these teachings should actually start before the age of 5. As parents, you must access what is best for your child and PH is not for everyone. Structure, order, manners, and respect must come from all sides of the teaching structure. Sometimes we need to look within and maybe the answer to our questions, worries and hates reside right there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

When we enrolled our 4 yr old at Providence Hall for pre-k we expected great things! Our expectations were quickly met and then exceeded. One rainy morning during the first semester of school I spotted a rainbow in the sky & asked my daughter if she remembered why the rainbow was significant in God s Word. She readily replied that it was God s promise to never again flood the world. I wanted her to key in on the word covenant and make sure that she could connect the word 'covenant' and rainbow. So I added emphatically, The rainbow is God s covenant. Do you know what a covenant is? I was hoping that she would then tell me a covenant was a promise but I could have never anticipated her fruitful reply: A covenant is a relationship that God establishes with us and guarantees by His word. WOW! Way to go PH!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

Our young daughter has attended Providence Hall for 3 years. We have been completely impressed with the knowledge and Christ centered foundation that this fantastic school has imparted to our daughter. Recently, I was helping after school, with several other parents & students to set up for one of the school wide feasts. My daughter and 2 other classmates were joyfully setting the tables; working together as a team. As they moved along each row of table and chairs laying out silverware at each place, they were reciting the Lord's prayer in Latin and reciting several Bible scriptures together in unison- naturally and of their own accord without anyone's prompting. There is no adequate way to express the joy that it gave me to see our daughter growing up gracefully in the Lord with the confidence to recite His Word amongst her classmates- Providence Hall is beyond excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

My daughter has attended Providence Hall for 4 years. After looking at the curriculum and meeting the staff, I knew I would like the school, but I could not have imagined how much the whole family would come to truly LOVE it. My daughter has thrived and learned more than I knew was possible. Every teacher she's had has been marvelous. Her intellectual and spiritual growth has soared at Providence Hall. I love that they teach manners and hold their students to high standards. Providence Hall has been a blessing to our lives in so many ways...scholastically, spiritually, building friendships, and much more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

Wow! What a great concept that a school holds their students to high standards. PH teachers model respect of others to all ages. Our children are thriving in the structured environment. There is never confusion about expectations. If a child is continually disruptive & the behavior is not corrected then under extreme situations the school could choose not to re-enroll them. The curriculum can be intense at times. The teachers are dedicated 150% to each child's success. Our children love their teachers and school. The new school building is wonderful too! For parents looking into a private school education PH is a great school to consider. On the other hand, if you have issues with strict adherence of basic courtesy & respect being taught to your child then jump out of the line quickly & run like the devil. Cause this is not the school for you. Happy school hunting & remember to pray for the Holy Spirit to guide you to the right school for your child. You can never go wrong listening to Him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

I would not recommend this school to anyone if your child is not perfect. This school wants only children that fit a specific mold. If your child is not the type to sit still and not speak until spoken too, then this is not the school for you. This school only wants little robot children who walk in a specific line or they get sent to the principals office. There are too many rules that a small child can not be expected to follow at the age of 5.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 54%
American Indian/Alaska Native 7% 17%
Hispanic 7% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Black 4% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACCS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1120 East Hefner Road
Oklahoma City, OK 73131
Phone: (405) 478-2077

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Heritage Hall
Oklahoma City, OK




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT