Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
121 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Messiah Lutheran School 5

Posted February 05, 2016
- a community member
My family has had a great experience in the 8 years we have been a part of Messiah Lutheran School! We love the small class sizes that allow our children to get one on one attention from their teachers. The staff at Messiah are caring and good Christian role models for my children. We really like that bulling is not tolerated. The friendships that have been made at this school will last them a life time! The school staff has always been open and cooperative whenever there was a situation that needed attention. Messiah Lutheran School is like a big extended family. I highly recommend it!

Messiah Lutheran School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
Thank you for treating kids fairly...even the ones who've had to spend some time in your office!

Messiah Lutheran School 5

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
This school has been an amazing place for my children! We've been part of Messiah for three years now, and I am very pleased. Both my kids have benefited academically and socially from the smaller class sizes and caring attitudes of the teachers and staff. I love the fact that the principal greets stands at the door each morning and greets every student by name--you don't see that in larger schools. I also like the fact that the students participate in several community service events throughout the year...what a wonderful way to teach our children to show Christ's love to everyone!

Messiah Lutheran School 2

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
My personal experience is there is no leadership and this filters down to the classrooms and the children. Teachers all seem unhappy and take it out of their students. Although they claim to be a Christian School there is no reflection of that in the manner they handle issues. Neither the teachers or the students are carry themselves in the manner you would expect from a Christian School you are paying for your children to attend.

Messiah Lutheran School 1

Posted March 13, 2013
- a community member
I went to this school a couple of years ago, i'm sure much haven't changed since then. some of the kids wanted to be bullies,but the teacers were the actual bullies in my case. If there was a problem a couple of the teachers would get involved, it had nothing to do with them or their class room. At lunch i would hear the staff discussing parents personal problems which i didn't think was good. I also had to run laps even though my medical report stated otherwise. for me this was more like a public school, THINK TWICE BEFORE SENDING YOUR KIDS HERE.

Messiah Lutheran School 5

Posted March 11, 2013
- a parent
This is our 2nd year at MLS and I am sorry to be late on posting my review. There is something to be said when your children enjoy going to school and don't fight to stay home (went through this at our previous school). The teachers are always approachable, easy to reach and the principal wonderful. After searching and visting several local Christian based schools, we agreed this was the best around and almost 2 years later, we are still just as happy. There is no perfect school or teacher as there is no perfect student but when a problem does arise, I have the faith and confidence in the faculty to address and resolve the problem. I know both kids are getting a good education and are happy and this makes me one thankful momma!

Messiah Lutheran School 5

Posted January 10, 2013
- a parent
I have multiple children currently attending Messiah Lutheran School and while looking at this website, I was shocked to see the poor review dated May 23, 2012. Messiah is a very christian school and I believe the excellent word of mouth reputation to be a legitimate reputation. I have experienced nothing but great attitudes and feelings towards my kids. To say that there is something going on behind closed doors is just crazy, apparently this person never spent time at the school or in their child's classroom which is a travesty in and of itself. The claim about the donation bowl being passed around during children's chapel needs to be clarified. The money collected goes to a designated charity every year and the children are not forced or even expected to donate. This is merely an opportunity for the children to feel a part of donating to a charity. This is a common theme among the school in that they teach the kids to give, in whatever means they are capable of. This is an important lesson in life. Overall, I give the school a very high ranking and plan to continue my children's education at Messiah Lutheran School.

Messiah Lutheran School 1

Posted May 23, 2012
- a parent
This will be my childs first and last year at Messiah..As a proud parent I was deluded by the fact this is a private christian school and it had an excellent word of mouth throughout Okc...Going on blind faith and being reared in private schools myself..I figured this would be an excellent choice..Sadly enough at the end of this school year I witnessed my child being bullied by other classmates. My child wanting approval and friends his first year of school tolerated it and didn't tell me the full the extent of his classmates behavior and other grades until I witnessed it. The school has chosen to only address the bullying or other behavioral issues during school hours only by having the child or children run laps I found out. It saddens me this not addressed outside of school by the administration communicating a resolve with the families. I am concerned this is being covered up to protect the families who donate money to the school, the church, and their reputation. I was discouraged by the fact they passed around the donation bowl during childrens chapel within the student body K-5. Behind close doors there is more than meets the eye. Be concerned!!

Messiah Lutheran School 5

Posted January 20, 2011
- a community member
This school is an *excellent* choice for anyone looking for a Christ-centered and accredited education. I am a student here and have been since 2nd grade and I still love it! This school has great faculty, and puts Christ and the kids first, at the same time! There is also a great student body, from which I'll remember most about it. This school has made a huge difference in my life, and will be remembered in my heart throughout it.

Messiah Lutheran School
no rating

Posted May 20, 2010
- a parent
excellent academics, personal attention, small class size

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Messiah Lutheran School
3600 Northwest Expressway, Oklahoma City, OK  73112
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (405) 946-0462
Last modified Messiah Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top