Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Astec Charter High School

Charter | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

70 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2013

They feel safe. Our teachers are amazing, each and everyone of them makes a creative effort to introduce their passion to our future. My son is looking forward in learning a lot this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

What I love about astec is that the teachers are always finding new ways to teach us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

Astec is a really good school .. ! And the teachers are awesome ..!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2009

ASTEC Charter Middle School is a good school were you learn alot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2009

I think astec is a very good school to go to because their is a lot of nice teachers and you can learn a lot of stuff.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2009

Because its a good school and its fun. We are a very good school and we do everything within our power to provide the best education to other fellow students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2009

Yes i love astec charter high school. I think that it has good teachers and students learn a lot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2009

I love ASTEC charter school!!! It has good teachers and friendly students. They try to raise money for good causes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2009

I like it here, because they prepare you for collage, and they help you with your work if you need help.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2009

ASTEC is a great school i like how they prepare my daughter for college
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

I think its a really excellent school i really like how they educate my niece shes really learned so much


Posted October 22, 2009

This school is very nice,sweet,and a good place to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2009

This is my school and I like the education from Astec, but don't like the dress code......I still like this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2009

This is the best school teachers are nice projects are fun
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2009

What I like about ASTEC is that they have a very good education and most of the students go to college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

I love this school because my friends go here and some teachers are nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2009

OMJ!! I love Astec because it's awesome, fun school where all the teachers ROCK!!! And we have fun while learning!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2009

I like Astec compare to public scholls in OKC; they try to keep trouble maker out so the kids have choice to learn the right things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

Everything, my sons have had an awesome experience at ASTEC. They have been there for 7 and 6 years and have had no problems and have done great academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

I really enjoy Astec Charter High School it is a great school for kids in Oklahoma. They take time out to help every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
70%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
39%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
64%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
85%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 72% 14%
White 12% 59%
Black 9% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Native American 2% 16%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 49%N/A51%
Special education 8%N/A15%
Female 51%N/A49%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2401 NW 23rd St 3
Oklahoma City, OK 73107
Phone: (405) 947-6272

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Dove Science Academy (OKC)
Oklahoma City, OK



Harding Fine Arts Academy
Oklahoma City, OK



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT