Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Astec Charter High School

Charter | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

70 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2009

I enjoy going to Astec Charter High School
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2009

Our school is wonderfully filled with talented kids. They deserve to have the best education to help them realize their dreams!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 19, 2009

The teachers are alright, but the uniforms are pretty bad >.<
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2009

Its a good school, the technology here is outstanding! Great school to learn and achieve.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2009

Its a great school some of the teachers are really great the only thing wrong is the uniforms
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

I have been at A.S.T.E.C going on my 6th year, so i love it. Its a very comfortable atmosphere. Everyone is like family and we all hold our heads up high about our school.A.S.T.E.C and also Astec school is not like any other school in Oklahoma. The teachers take time to help students. The class rooms are small so you get help fast. The teachers have high goals for every student and helps us try to reach them. I am every proud to be attending Astec Charter High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

this school is amazing and is a great place to learn and grow I<3 this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2009

All of my 3 kids go to ASTEC. they give the kids the chance and advantage that they need to succed in life and in their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

ASTEC provides a superior education for its students, and saves the taxpayers money when compared to other schools. A better education with less money is just incredible! Many, many thanks to all the teachers and administrators of ASTEC HS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

I have been at A.S.T.E.C going on my 6th year, so i love it. Its a very comfortable atmosphere. Everyone is like family and we all hold our heads up high about our school.A.S.T.E.C Comets #1
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

My daughter has been attending A.S.T.E.C for her middle & high school years which we really both enjoy. I have recommended A.S.T.E.C to several of my friends & family which both of my sisters have there children attending A.S.T.E.C. as well. I love that the school has smaller classes and the children have more of a one on one with the teacher's. The teacher's also take the time to meet with the parent's if they have any questions or concern regarding their child. My daugher is a junior this year and i'm so greatful that i decided A.S.T.E.C as the school where she would finish her last 4 years...***I wish A.S.T.E.C would open an Elementary School****
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

What I want to brag about are the teachers in A.S.T.E.C because they are more like our friends and they are very hard working.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

I love that ASTEC has been a school the kids enjoy attending. When your kids 'want' to go to school rather than 'need' makes you know that they are motivated in a way no other school can do. Great communication between teachers and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

I just think it is a great school, and i have better chances of doing something great after i graduate
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2009

We get lots of food choices for lunch
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2009

Astec Charter high school is not like any other school in Oklahoma. The teachers take time to help students. The class rooms are small so you get help fast. The teachers have high goals for every student and helps us try to reach them.I am every proud to be attending Astec Charter High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2009

ASTEC offers high quality instruction with a good student/teacher ratio. One of my two sons graduated from ASTEC this year and had not been especially good with math but because of the instruction and environment by the time he graduated he was proficient in higher math. He is in college this fall and doing very well. I give credit to ASTEC for helping him achieve his goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

Unlike practically every other high school in my district, Astec actually cares about their students and offers great opportunites for them. I've been attending this school for 3 years and have enjoyed it very much. I would definitely choose this school over any other.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2009

I like astec becuse there is no bullying and it is fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2009

Its a small school with great people and great teachers, I went there for 5 years... loved it and u get to know everyone. Dr. Deskin is great, she does such a good job making the school even better... she truly is an inspiration and so are the teachers, hard work pays off and thats why we have a good gradduation rate. I miss going there and loved it
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 84% in 2012.

40 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
70%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 77% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
39%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 79% in 2012.

82 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
64%
English II

The state average for English II was 88% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
English III

The state average for English III was 92% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 87% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2009.

99 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2009.

109 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
84%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 77% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 57% 13%
White 17% 54%
Black 11% 10%
Two or more races 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A61%
Male 49%N/A51%
Female 51%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2401 NW 23rd St 3
Oklahoma City, OK 73107
Phone: (405) 947-6272

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Dove Science Academy (OKC)
Oklahoma City, OK



Harding Fine Arts Academy
Oklahoma City, OK



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT