Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Astec Charter High School

Charter | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

70 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2009

My son attends the middle school. Teachers are great. The school has a great learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

It is one of the best educations possible for free which makes it priceless and a privlege to get the opportunity to attend school there. Dr. Freda Denskin's dedication to it's mission of teaching science and technology in order to prepare our youth for global competition in the 21sth Century is unparallelled and her dedication to it's goals is infectious to her staff and the student body.


Posted October 8, 2009

Astec High is a cool place, and has a lot of technology and people that make the learning experience fun. GO COMETS WOOHOO!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2009

Astec Charter High School has a very great learning environment for students and it has very educational classes for all student 9th-12th grade. i believe that astec is a great school for all students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2009

ASTEC Charter High School is one of the best places to learn, and to become successful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2009

Oh my goodness, I've attended ASTEC since 6th grade. Every single year, it gets better and better. Dr. Deskin works so hard to improve the school, and she is successful. This school will one day be THE best in the nation. Also, Mrs. Vickie Kastl is an extraordinary senior English teacher. I don't know what I'd do without her. I hope one day to look back and see my school as the very best, just like me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2009

I love my schools basketball team and our technology classes! GO COMETS!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2009

I love my school because it presents a good learning environment and allows me to get a decent education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2009

ASTEC has gone MAC. You will find smart boards and mac computers in almost every room of the school. The auditorium even has intelligent lighting, and a green screen studio for broadcasting.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 8, 2009

ASTEC is on the leading edge of technology with the resent purchase of 300 + Apple computers and on the way to becoming an Apple certified school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

ASTEC is the best school for my son , I don't think he would acheve as much any where else , the Teachers are the best , and suport the students and help the acheve there best .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

The students feel comfortable here and feel good about themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Astec is a school that is focused on the future of our children and their education which will contribute to a brighter future


Posted October 7, 2009

Astec really helps you learn and achieve your goals. Sometimes it may seem or even we might say gosh astec is too strict but the truth is that they help you with all they can to reach your goals. I might still be a 7th grader but i know astec really helps you. Amd one of the best teachers ive ever met in my whole life is:ms.Fox she is the most wonderfull teacher ive ever met not only she makes education the most funnest of all,but trust me she helps you out in all she can. She keeps your secrets safe. Shes just awsome funny caring and respectfull she is more than a teacher to me!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2009

ASTEC staff and students are absolutely the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

ASTEC Charter High provides all learners an opportunity to interact in innovative, safe learning environments, while focusing on core values. ASTEC, Inc. will motivate and inspire learners to explore and discover in an experiential environment of project-based instruction.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2009

It's progressive and technically tuned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

The students of ASTEC are among the brightest and most talented I have ever seen. Everyday as a teacher at ASTEC is a joy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Love this school! Teachers are amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

I love ASTEC Charter School because the technology that the school offers is great for the students! I also love the strategy that the school has taken for their lesson plan and the staff is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
70%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
39%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
64%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
85%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 57% 13%
White 17% 54%
Black 11% 10%
Two or more races 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Male 49%N/A51%
Female 51%N/A49%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2401 NW 23rd St 3
Oklahoma City, OK 73107
Phone: (405) 947-6272

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Dove Science Academy (OKC)
Oklahoma City, OK



Harding Fine Arts Academy
Oklahoma City, OK



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT