Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crooked Oak High School

Public | 9-12 | 259 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2011

There are a few GREAT leaders at this school, the guidance counselor and the elementary principal particularly. However, the school board and the superintendent are ignorant and hateful, unqualified for their jobs. I'm not sure anyone on the school board has even been to college. The superintendent is disconnected from the school and could care less about the students. Most of the teachers aren't qualified and have no business being in charge of children. The kids are great, but deserve much better from the teachers and administrators at this school.


Posted April 1, 2009

i think it is a pretty darn good school for the reputation it used to have. there are some really bright students at crooked oak and some of the teachers really care how the students fare.i know one teacher in particular that spends hours after class EVERY day doing class work. i would give this school 3 stars, not because it is a mediocre school but because i still want to see it get better


Posted June 19, 2008

I just graduated from Crooked Oak High School this year and I personally think it is a safe school to send your kids, but it could use some work. I think they need more sports and more activities. The unifrm policy is ok but shoelaces? Come on now. Julia Natale
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 23, 2007

I'd have to say. Speaking as a student. That Crooked Oak isn't perfect, but the improvment over the last few years has made us more respectable in the community. I owe this all to the principal. Since she came in The school has had a 180 degree turn around!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2007

Crooked Oak High School is an awesome school your kids are safe and well taken care of.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2006

I must agree with you on that topic they are so worried about what color your shoe laces are then what is going on with the students. I am all for the dress code they are trying to enforce but I also think the staff should also have to follow it as well, I have seen some teachers with things on that didn't cover what needed to be covered and that no one needs to see. I believe that if they was made to wear the same things as the students then the students would be more likley to use the dress code rules. well that's just my thought take it as you will.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

I am a sophomore at crooked oak high school. I dont think that CO is a bad school but I DO think that they are doing a lot of unnecessary things. they called us in for a assembly yesterday just to gripe at us about our uniform policy. they want us all to look exactly the same. they wonder why we are on the black list for test scores, because they are to worried about how we look instead of what we know.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 84% in 2012.

28 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
59%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 77% in 2012.

57 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
14%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 79% in 2012.

47 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
67%
English II

The state average for English II was 88% in 2012.

48 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
English III

The state average for English III was 92% in 2012.

39 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 87% in 2012.

46 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2009.

74 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2009.

53 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
51%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 77% in 2012.

48 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 56% 12%
White 19% 54%
Black 17% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6% 18%
Asian 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1901 SE 15th
Oklahoma City, OK 73129
Phone: (405) 677-3452

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Douglass High School
Oklahoma City, OK


Destiny Christian School
Oklahoma City, OK



Santa Fe South High School
Oklahoma City, OK




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT