Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Barnes Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 24, 2015
- a community member
Mrs Rupe, you are an inspiration on how to make children feel good about themselves and love to come to school.

Barnes Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a community member
Our granddaughter is in first grade at Barnes. She also attended Kindergarten there. Her experience has been wonderful. She loves school, her teachers, and friends. She has great pride in her school and looks forward to all of the activities Barnes has to maintain that pride.

Barnes Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
We love the small scale of the school. It allows for a more personal feel. The new principal is keeping the tradition of pride in oneself and one's school and community alive. The teachers we have had experience with have all been wonderful. I feel like my daughter is getting a great foundation for later success as a result of her time at Barnes.

Barnes Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter is in first grade now, and we have had such a wonderful experience at Barnes with the teachers, staff, and principal. This year, I would like to thank Mrs. Rupe for being such a wonderful example of what a caring and compassionate teacher looks like. She is so highly regarded by students and parents, past and present. Thanks you, Mrs. Rupe for everything you do for our daughter.

Barnes Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
One of the school's mottos is: Blue Jays do the right thing because it is the right thing to do.

Barnes Elementary School 5

Posted May 29, 2014
- a community member
My name is Timothy Bugh and I went to barnes my entire elementary experience from 4th on up and it was the greatest experience to date of my life the teachers where awsome the counselor was the greatest and everything was wholesome!

Barnes Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2012
- a parent
Both of my children attend Barnes and our family loves this school. The teachers go beyond teaching basic academics and seek to work with each child as an individual at their skill level. This is also a school that values students as good citizens. Respect for self, respect for elders, and good manners are practiced by everyone at the school and it shows in the attitude and behavior of the students. The amount of PTA involvement is amazing and the school benefits each year from community support. I wouldn't want my kids to be at any other school in the Mid-Del district.

Barnes Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2012
- a parent
We LOVE Barnes!! The teachers and faculty are wonderful, amazing, upstanding role models. We currently have 2 children in the school, and 1 that attended 1st-5th grade. We love the fact that the teachers stick for a long time, so we have grown relationships with most of them, making our experience so much better. Thanks Barnes Bluejays for always being the best!!

Barnes Elementary School 5

Posted July 23, 2011
- a parent
BARNES is a fabulous school! The PRINCIPAL (correct spelling) is amazing. She works very hard each day to make sure her students and teachers are safe. The faculty is positive and very much involved in all aspects. The climate of the school is exceptional. The office ladies are helpful and welcoming. My children LOVE Barnes Elementary and so do I (you should always capitalize I).

Barnes Elementary School 1

Posted March 19, 2011
- a community member
I was a student at this school and I can tell you by first hand experience that this school only caters to those that it sees excelling. if your an average student with b's and c's you have no chance of getting any help from the so called "great" teachers. but I will agree that Mrs. Finley is awesome, she has been there forever. And as far as the principal is concerned she is an obnoxious woman, that never should have been made principal at all, the principal before her was much better and actually cared about the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barnes Elementary School
10551 Southeast 59th Street, Oklahoma City, OK  73150
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (405) 739-1651
Last modified Barnes Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top