Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Awesome staff which cares for kids. They go above and beyond to help students become active learners
April 23, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Awesome staff which cares for kids. They go above and beyond to help students become active learners
Posted April 23, 2016

Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2015
- a parent
The teachers, princapal and other staff are amazing! They really care about their children! Great place for children to learn and thrive!

Highland Park Elementary School 1

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
This school is very unfair to children who are mainstreamed. The principal is very unfair and does not follow the federal laws set in place for children who have an IEP she would rather get the child sent to another school than follow proper procedures. I was told this by a couple of other parents but did not believe it because of how well my oldest child has done there until my other child went to school there now I see exactly what the other parents were talking about. If you do not have a "normal" child I would save the time and trouble and go to another school. The state or someone should step in and review there plans and procedures and how they treat children differently here.

Highland Park Elementary School 1

Posted August 18, 2012
- a parent
I have 3 kids that went to this school, only one finshed, the other two needed to be transfered to other schools to be able to have a positive experiance. The principal is lacking to say the least and seems to really want to be somewhere else. There is proof to my opinion. When my kids moved on to other schools they all 3 flurished. Both socially, academiclly and behaviorally. The don't know how to deal with children that learn "differently" or have special needs. If you can DO NOT let your children go here. There are at least 2 other schools in less than 3 miles that are WAY better.

Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2009
- a parent
I love this school. All of my children has attended this school and 2 are still in attendance. The faculty, principles and administrative staff are so personable and knows every child in that school by name. Highland Park is a great school and if I ever have to move out of the district be my kids reach 5th grade, I will be asking for a in district special transfer. This is a great school that offers a great education for all in attendance there.

Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2009
- a parent
I personally love this school. My son has gone here since pre-K. The teachers are wonderful.There does need to be more parental involvement however. The teachers are great though!!

Highland Park Elementary School 5

Posted April 09, 2007
- a teacher
Excellent school! Best of the best! None better! Caring staff and the world's best students. Awesome place!!!!

Highland Park Elementary School 3

Posted February 05, 2007
- a parent
My children attended this school for a cumulative 16 years. The teachers here are excellent and they did well. However, over the past several years the census of child attending this school has changed, and changed for the worse. Now it is rare to find a child whose parent is involved, and even more rare to find a parent who is raising their child to have manners and to be respectful of the teachers and other adults. The teachers are excellent and this school could be a good school but it will take parental involvement to back up what the teachers and Principal are striving to achieve.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Park Elementary School
5301 South Dimple Avenue, Oklahoma City, OK  73135
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (405) 671-8660
Last modified Highland Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top