Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parkview Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

The principal at Parkview is wonderful! Just like any other school, I have encountered some good teachers and some very bad teachers as well! The office staff is very rude and just not friendly at all! Over all though, I love Parkview.....you just have to be very selective when it comes to who your child's teacher will be!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2014

i don't like teacher this school, some teachers they very discrimination and despise parents also students. My son and daughter very sad after school finish. they not really enjoys or interested at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

I do not like Parkview elementary, my daughter is in kindergarten and she gets bullied everyday and her teacher will not do anything I have ask and her to do. Every time I go up to the school the office lady's are so rude and you will see kids just walking and playing in the hallways. I wish my daughter could go to Townsend Elementary schools, my youngest go's there because she is in a DD class there. In Townsend Elementary school the office, principal, and teachers are the greatest people I have ever met since I moved to Oklahoma...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

My two sons have attended Parkview. My oldest just recently transitioned to Jr. High. I have a second grader currently enrolled and so far the sch yr has started off great. We do not have a negative experience to speak of in the 4 years we have encountered PV. Yes, as I read in another review the principal is very hands on, in fact, he spoke to my children by name as I witnessed him do with many others. Inanutshell, my children have had a good experience with teachers, other staff as well as students. My oldest had great teachers in 3rd and 4th grade, that really went the extra mile to help him in weak areas. They were responsive by email as well as taking time to send home frequent notes about his progess!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Parkview is the best! The principal is hands on - a strong presence in the school. The teachers work hard to accomodate each child's special needs as well as being good role models. The office staff is helpful and courteous. I give them a 5 star and so do my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

They have a great staff and great parents who really care about education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

The teachers really care about their students! The Principal is a wonderful leader! We love the librarian! She is the best librarian that I have ever seen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

The teachers are all friends with each other like a family. The parents are awesome and love to help out at the school with anything that needs to be done,
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 25, 2009

I have love this school it is a multicultral school very diverse. They are very positive people who love to teach and make sure your student has a chance to be the best young citizens they can be. The principal Mr. Kalsu is the best principal every and is very protective over his students and faculty. Nothing and no one gets by him. He should be principal of the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

Best school my children have ever attended. The staff make all the difference!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

THe principle, Mr. Kalsu, is very involved and professional. He really does know each child by name and really understands how to communicate to the children with respect and compassion. The students listen to him. The staff seem happy to teach and in my 4 years of experience so far, have been willing to help and understand my daughters' needs. I feel good sending my child to school there each day knowing that she will learn and be kept safe. I am looking forward to my son growing up and attending Parkview! I think that the music (yea Mrs. Sharp!), art (Miss Peterson rocks). reading (Hi Mrs. Long), and other staff members do an amazing job. They even have a before and after school day care in the facility!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

We moved to this school from another in the same district. There is no comparison. Parkview is amazing. The staff really love the students and love what they do. My daughter is challenging, but I know she will be greeted with compassion and guidance everyday. Parkview provides a level of education that I was surprised to find in the public school system. Again, the result of dedicated teaching staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I am very impressed with my son s, teacher s credentials. I am impressed with the entire atmosphere and demeanor of the students and faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

Parkview is a great school with great teachers. My daughter attended there from 1st thru 6 grade. The principal Mr. Kalsu is the best. You can't ask for a better environment for your child. The quality of learning is top notch. I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2004

Parkview is a 1st rate school - its not as old as you think, but it is kept in superb condition. All three of my children have gone or are going to Parkview. Top notch teachers, staff and an super involved principle, Mr. Kalsu. We are moving next year and I hope I can find a comparable school where we are going. A+++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2004

This is a neighborhood school. Though it is an older school it is kept up very well. Very clean and nice. The principal is the best. Very involved and knows the kids by name. They do not tolerate too much talking, fighting or name calling. I only wish they offered classes through 12th grade. A+ in my book. My child attended 4th - 6th grades. No organized sports though due to budget cuts.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 59%
Black 37% 9%
Hispanic 9% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 2%
Native American 6% 16%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 157%N/A61%
Special education 29%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5701 MacKelman Dr
Oklahoma City, OK 73135
Phone: (405) 671-8670

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Tinker Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK




Oakridge Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


Bodine Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT