Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kingsgate Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 450 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2012

We love this school and it's faculty, they have always been great to our family and our son. The teachers care about the kids and respect the parents. I could not be happier with kingsgate and would love to give them more stars than 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

New principal lady lacks Leadership qualities. On our last meeting she showed judgment deficiency and stubbornness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

I have a child that is going into the 2nd grade this year and he loves it and so do i my other child is starting pre k and im cant wit for him to have as much fun there as his older brother. The teachers are wonderful and very attentive to the students.Also the principal is great we had some problems with other kids and i talked to him about them and he took care of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

I have to be honest, when my husband and I first found out that Earlywine had too many students so our daughter would be going to Kingsgate instead for a year we were disappointed. However, Kingsgate far exceeded our expectations! Mrs. Abraham and Mrs. Graham (Pre-K, AM Class) are wonderful!!! The Principle is also very nice and seems to have everything under control. Now I am disappointed that she has to switch to Earlywine for her Kindergarten because I know Kingsgate does a wonderful job and I would not have minded her to stay. Keep up the good work and many thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

I am pleased with this school. Most of the teachers are quality educators and do a good job working with my kids. I am most impressed with the Principle who seems to be an effective leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

My kids love Kingsgate! The teachers, principal and counselor are wonderful! The involvement with the children is wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2005

My son was supposed to go to Fisher, but due to the school's overpopulation, he went to Kingsgate. I am actually quite amazed with Kingsgate - Mrs. Ashby, his kindergarten teacher, is absolutely wonderful. The mock wedding of Q & U is ingenious. My son has thoroughly enjoyed this year and he's learned a lot. The principal always attends the activities and the school encourages continuous parental involvement. I would recommend Kingsgate as one of the best schools in OKC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

I am a foster parent and as such have had a few elementary age children. They all have loved Kingsgate Elementary. The staff and teachers are all very dedicated and very helpful to me as a parent. The school is a large one and every thing is always clean and well organized. I currently have a child who will be going to the school and is looking forward to her time there. I have tried to tell her about the school and she is very excited and says that her previous school was nothing compared to what I've told her about Kingsgate. I would rate this school as being one of the best in Oklahoma.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2003

I have two Children who attend Kingsgate, and it has been a wonderful experience for both of them and us! Bottom line - good principals make a difference, and the principal is doing that at Kingsgate. Firm discipline and high expectations for both the kids and the parents make it one of the top Elementaries in the state!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

my children have been going to this wonderful school for 7 plus years. we have been very satisfied with parent/teacher and principal participation. Everyone is very nice and are very concerned about our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2003

Both my children have attended this school for the past 3 years. The teacher/ principal involvement is excellent. When I walk down the hall with my children, the teachers smile & greet the children. The expectations are high but fair.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

34 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 59%
Hispanic 16% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
Native American 7% 16%
Black 4% 9%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 155%N/A61%
Special education 216%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Karie Hill

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 Kingsgate Road
Oklahoma City, OK 73159
Phone: (405) 735-4410

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

West Junior High School
Oklahoma City, OK


Kingspark Baptist Academy
Oklahoma City, OK


Sky Ranch Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


Fairview Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


Red Oak Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT