Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sky Ranch Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 642 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2014

Probably a problem with all Moore elementary schools, having the 6th graders in the elementary means they all have to take turns having lunch. This year, my daughter doesn't get to eat lunch until 1pm. Add to that the fact that they allow very little time for them to finish their lunches and some of the teacher's are hostile to the kids engaging in self care (most allow water bottles, but none allow snacks; other don't let them go to the bathroom); you have a lot of grumpy, uncooperative kids. Another thing, this school is so focused on testing that they have eliminated art class for the 6th graders and replaced it with computer class so that they can learn to type and be better test takers. Sure would like my child to be learning to be a well rounded, critical thinker instead of being a pawn in this testing for money scheme the US has going on right now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2014

My daughter has been in kindergarten this year at skyranch. She has struggled a lot, she hates going to school everyday and begs me to stay home. She gets picked on by boys, and her teacher seems impatient with the children. My daughter told me her first week of school that her teacher "talks mean to her" so she doesnt like being there. She is bored and there is no fun in learning, all the focus is on passing tests! We will not be returning next year and I do not recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2014

I have been a parent at this school for many years with all of my children and I couldn't be happier. We had problems with prior administrations, but Ms Hendrix and Mr Dilbeck are fantastic. They are tough on bullying, they have fenced the playground, and they are always available to talk to me about my kids and their school experience. I LOVE the teachers. My kids are not easy kids and I have always had great communication from the staff. The changes to the school in the past year have really encouraged me and my children love going to school here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

My children went to Sky Ranch for a very short period of time due to the lack of kindness at this school. My son was in kindergarten and every day that I picked him up from school the teacher never had a positive feed back. He would come home just really upset not wanting to go back. My daughter on the other hand had a great teacher and this teacher was great with her. Now that both of my kids are in school else were my son is ready to go to school before he even goes to bed at night. He is always telling us that he has had the best day ever (which seems to be every day) I am not saying that the first grade teachers are bad at all, just the kindergarten teachers make it seem like they are not very acclimated for teaching younger children. I would like to say that I liked the other staff members though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2012

This school does not deal with the bullying issues that has progressed at this school within the past three years they just pass the buck and say stuff to the parents to satisfy at that moment but never deal with the issue at hand, and if dealing with the situation it seems as though they forget what the issue is and just try to get the the child they seem to not like out of the school....The principal has no children of her own and is unable to understand how it tears a parent apart watching their child beg for help and to get them away from a specific teacher...I do not think this school has kids best interest at heart and have forgotten what they are their for I totally agree with previous review that the principal is friends with the teachers and forgets what is best for the children...I hope and pray they get someone in their that knows how and why a child can hurt and that there is MORE then one way that a child can learn.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

My daughter has been a student at Sky ranch for the past 3 years. We have had our ups and downs with them. They have an excellent curriculum and style fo teaching. A minor issue os the lack of safety they take in that their school yard is not fully fenced in, along the west side of the school boundry, their were fence planks from residences with nails sticking up, they lack a crossguard on the west side as well. I am moving my daughter from this school in hopes that she will be have a better chance in that they are not very ADHD friendly, they have called numerous times to confirm she had taken her medicine, like they prefer her on it, when a real school will work with the student so she is not pill dependent. their are minor things that need to be addressed but overall the teachers are amazing and the neighborhood is relatively safe. They also lack in sending home notifications to parents( depend on children to pass the message).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2011

I am disappointed in this school. We specifically moved to the Moore School district to be in a better environment, but from what I have seen some of the teachers (at this school, at least) are not as professional as you would expect. Last year, when one of the teachers threw a temper tantrum in front of the kids (I have confirmation from other children and parents that this particular teacher threw temper tantrums on more than one occasion); I was told that I needed to deal with the teacher directly by the principal. I get the feeling that the principal is "friends" with her teachers and is looking out more for them than the students. Also, the music teacher tends to let the kids watch lots of movies rather than teach them. I am very disappointed in this, as we moved from a school that actually had a pretty good music program with instruments for the older kids. Aside from those complaints, I know that there are good teachers at this school (we have one this year), just maybe the environment isn't conducive to the children really excelling due to the attitude of the principal and some teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2011

Awesome family support, to promote the best learning environment at home and school. We will miss this school when we move. Teachers really care about the students. Mrs. Hill is a great principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

I went to Sky Ranch k-6 & I had the best teachers ever!! My son also went to Sky Ranch & he loved it!! We moved a few years ago & I had to transfer him there because he didn't want to go anywhere else. I had to put him in a new school this year & he doesn't like it as much. If I could he would go back!! They have the best teacher's & Mrs. West is awesome so is Mrs. Eckstein & Mrs. Stults & Mrs. Norman they are the best!! You couldn't find a better school!!!!!! Sincerely, Marti & Blain
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2004

Great School. I could not be any happier. Did a transfer just for child to go to this school. The best K-5 teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

49 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 59%
Hispanic 21% 14%
Black 11% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 2%
Native American 4% 16%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 166%N/A61%
Special education 212%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Debra Hendrix

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9501 South Western Avenue
Oklahoma City, OK 73139
Phone: (405) 735-4460

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Kingsgate Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


West Junior High School
Oklahoma City, OK


Kingspark Baptist Academy
Oklahoma City, OK



Brink Junior High School
Oklahoma City, OK



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT