Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Red Oak Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 563 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2014

I dont recommend this school. There are teachers who teach with fear and think yelling and degrading the children is okay. They arent allowed to talk at lunch or inside recess but the teachers expect the children to be angels all day and sit quietly for 7 hours and focus.there seems to be no reward system for doing good only criticism forwhen they mess up. We will not be attending this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2014

My 6th grader will be graduating out this year after attending Red Oak K-6. We've had a great experience and felt lucky to have such great teachers and principal each year. My child feels the teachers care for her. We have been involved in after school programs such as science club, basketball, and in 5th grade they even took a week long field trip for "outdoor school" at a campsite in Oklahoma. Many of the teachers and parents dedicated their personal time to attend for the entire week. Yes, they are strict at lunch. Being strict on children does not hurt them. They get PE and recess and plenty of play time at home. I would not want to be in charge of keeping kids in order so I'm not complaining about boring lunches. Parent involvement depends on many factors and would be different depending on each age group. They seem to show up for meetings, parties, and Rockin Rams on Friday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

I am not sure of the principal since I don't deal with her, however, I am very involved with the teachers and they are great and caring. My son lost his dad this year and the teachers are honoring his wishes that the students are not to be told. the only reason the teachers know is because what has happened is reflecting on his work. We are a team and its so nice to be on a winning team! I'd like to thank all the 6th grade teachers and the search teacher. All of you are wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

My child likes his homework assignments and completes them without parental prompting. I am the product of a public educator, and i believe this to be a great school for feeding young minds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2011

I would just like to say one thing. Everyone that has left the NEGATIVE comments about Red Oak is correct. This school is HORRIBLE!! They drowned the child in work and never try to explain anything. Then if they don't know how to do the work they take their recess away EVERYDAY! They never reward the child when they excell in something. They never have anything to look forward to like a field trip. They punish the child for not learning when the teachers should be disciplined for not teaching sufficiently!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

I don't know how this school could be much better. My two children have had the best teaching. I have never had to worry if they are "getting it." The principal, the counselor, and most importantly the teachers go out of their way to make sure their students are successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

I can't believe the five star reviews that have been posted recently. The staff is a 50/50 mix of some of the best teachers in the district, and some of the worst. If you are lucky enough to get one of the best teachers, you can expect a wonderful year for your child. Unfortunately, too many of the teachers are demanding and will not listen to parent concerns. My third grade son was repeatedly assigned detention for not understanding his homework. I asked the teacher to be understanding and go easy handed on him and it only made it worse. Similar experiences with a fourth grade teacher, and the principal doesn't even care. Also, there is NO TALKING at lunch. Well, the teachers and principals get to take a break and talk, but not the kids. I will agree that we have had many great experiences with most of the teachers. It is just that the few that are out of control are allowed to continue the same behavior, and the finger is pointed at the parents. Can't wait to leave here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

We have done PreK - 5th grade so far. Love the principal, teachers and support staff. They even offer a before and after school program on site with Redoak teaches. Can't say enought great things about Redoak.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

Red Oak is a wonderful school. The teachers and staff are top-notch and contrary to other comments, very concerned about their students' success. My son has attend K-4th grade at Red Oak. He has had outstanding teachers at every level. He is reading at a 12th grade level, has an incredible vocabulary and loves math and science, especially the Science Club. I have been pleased that his teachers expect more responsibility and accountability from him each year. He struggled with his timed multiplication in 3rd grade, but his teacher helped him stay positive and encouraged him to keep working at it--to not give up, which is a life lesson all kids need to experience. If moving into the Moore school district area, I highly recommend buying a house near Red Oak Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2011

Red Oak has a very dedicated faculty who truly care about students and their success. It is painful to read that some parents believe we don't care. We very much do, otherwise we would be doing something else. I know numerous teachers at Red Oak who arrive early or stay late to help an individual student. Student success is our highest priority.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 27, 2009

My son has attended Red Oak for two years and I could not be more happy with our experience. The pre-K and half day kindergarten teachers are top notch and truly care about the children in their care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

I have 2 children that attend this school and have found the teachers to be honest and forthcoming(even if it was something I didn't want to hear) I wish all parents would listen and put their children first instead of thinking that the teachers are bad or don't care. I listened and now my child is in lab. Best thing for my child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

There are a few teachers at Redd Oak one shoould try to avoid but most are caring, loving teachers who want the best for their students. I feel very comfortable sending my children, in first and second grade, to Red Oak.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

They do not even deserve one star. They simply do not try to teach and then they blame the child for not learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

I have a first grade at Red Oak and on the after school program. The teachers are outstanding, caring and a delight to talk with. Every time I pick up my daughter, I see the teachers interacting properly with the kids and making sure they learn and have fun. I feel blessed my daughter is in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

Teaching takes patience and caring. The teachers and principal at Red Oak obviously did NOT get the memo on that one! As a parent, I do not recommend this school if you care about a quality education for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

My son is in special education program. The teachers/aidees are absolute wonderful. The teacher is the best I have ever seen. I feel bless to find the right school for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

a great school for my grandchildren rate 5


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 59%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 2%
Hispanic 11% 14%
Black 7% 9%
Native American 6% 16%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 136%N/A61%
Special education 217%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11224 South Pennsylvania Avenue
Oklahoma City, OK 73170
Website: Click here
Phone: (405) 735-4440

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Fisher Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


Brink Junior High School
Oklahoma City, OK


Kingsgate Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


Kingspark Baptist Academy
Oklahoma City, OK


West Junior High School
Oklahoma City, OK


Earlywine Elementary School
Oklahoma City, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT