Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oktaha High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2009

I have been going to this school for almost 3 months now and I love it. I am learning alot more than I did at my old school. The sports are amazing our girls recently won state in golf and the boys are on their way to win state in baseball. The discipline is very very awesome and every kid is treated with respect. If your lookin for a school to send your kid to this is the school!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2008

I am currently a student at Oktaha High School. I am also a Freshman. I strongly disagree with some of these ratings.Oktaha is a great school. All the teachers are qualified, and very smart. They treat all the kids with the same respect and graditude. They have many sports and activities that your child can do. If you send your child to this school you will be very pleased.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2007

I attended Oktaha Public Schools all thirteen years of my schooling, and I can say from my personal experience that it is a superb school. Academics are the top priority of this wonderful rural school. Mr. Jerry Needham is a very capable administrator. Any parent that sends their child to this charming school, will in no [way] be disappointed.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 17, 2007

our school is just awesome
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2007

I am a graduate of Oktaha and loved every minute of it! They have amazing teachers and a loving staff... My education was superb and I definitely succeeded in academics! I also played many sports and it was an excellent. I attended college on a full ride and graduated in four years with a great GPA! So I would say it is an excellent school!


Posted August 22, 2006

My Kids have went there for a few years now. I have found that there focus is on sports instead of academics. They are fair to the children as far as treatment. But what they need is an education not exercise. The staff is par for Oklahoma. The board members have been on there for years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2006

This school is like going back in time. Very controlled and positive learning environment. Staff truly care about helping your child to be successful. Teacher quality is outstanding. Administration is outstanding. The school pride and spirit is like no other. This school is successful in all extracurricular activities and parent involvement in unbelievable. Very glad about moving my child to this school. Has been nothing but a wonderful, positive experience. Administration and teachers are always available. The staff and students make new students feel welcome. Academics are tops here! Can't go wrong with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

This review is 'horribly' silly. Last year our girls were the state champions in basketball. We went to state in track and softball. We also have a golf team, cheerleading, academic bowl, and a band. This is not counting our numerous student clubs. I guess your kids just weren't instrested in normal activities. As for our teachers, we had over a million dollars in scholarships offered last year so I guess they are doing something right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2005

Oktaha is abysmal at best. There are no extracurricular activities. My kids were terribly bored after school. The teaching environment is way below par. The only Honors class is English, which is horribly ironic because none of the teachers speak proper English.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
69%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
American Indian/Alaska Native 55% 17%
White 40% 54%
Black 3% 10%
Hispanic 1% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

531 East Prairie St
Oktaha, OK 74450
Phone: (918) 687-3672

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Midway High School
Council Hill, OK





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT