Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hayward Smith Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
Just not too impressed with principal and IEP program. They lacked understanding of different cultures and different situations that effect the child and their family.

Hayward Smith Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
Not sure if they develop these thing in students. I am aware the Principal and few of the staff lack understanding and sympathy for my son's difficulty especially in trying to adapt from another culture.

Hayward Smith Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
My daughters teacher for kindness. My daughter has said nice things about her. Thankful to all wonderful teachers out there.

Hayward Smith Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
I felt like they were quick to give up on my son just because we didn't agree with holding him back. We knew he has a learning disability and holding him back would not help.

Hayward Smith Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
They said they didn't have resources at their school to help my son. I think they were just unwilling to help.

Hayward Smith Elementary School 2

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
In my experience, I was not impressed with principal and IEP staff. I guess after such great ratings, I didn't expect to be treated this way. I would of never guessed the principal is who he is due to his not so friendly demeanor.

Hayward Smith Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
Again, IEP program was the problem as I felt like they were unwilling to help my son.

Hayward Smith Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
We didn't stay long enough to know this, but teachers seemed to be fine for most part.

Hayward Smith Elementary School 5

Posted July 11, 2009
- a parent
My children have gone to Smith for two years now. They both love this school so much that they can't wait for school to start again. We had a few issues with reading when switched to Smith, but the school provides after school tutoring for free. What a difference that made. I love that the kids get choices for lunch- and healthy ones at that. The school has good activities in p.e., music, and computer. The teachers are terrific and Mr. Hughes is the best principal that we could have hoped for.

Hayward Smith Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2008
- a parent
My daughter has gone to Smith since Kindergarten and is now in the 5th grade. I can't say enough about how great the staff, teachers, office personnel, and Mr. Hughes has been!!! Their caring attitude towards both students and parents alike have given my daughter and me a wonderful elementary experience. They know children can rise to a challenge and are not afraid to have great expectations for all students, but not insensitive to those who are having difficulty. Even my daughter at one point struggled in math and now with the help of her teacher and Mrs. Duffy, she is excelling. Great school sums it all up!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hayward Smith Elementary School
1501 North Ash Street, Owasso, OK  74055
(918) 272-5162
Last modified Hayward Smith Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hayward Smith Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top