Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pamela Hodson Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 2 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 5, 2010

I have 1 daughter that graduated elem from Hodson, 3 others that are attending now. We have never had a bad experience with any of the teachers or staff. All 4 of my daughters have loved the teachers and could not say nicer things about Mrs. Hughs. I recommend Hodson to all my friends that have children entering into elem school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

I think it is the greatest school ever. I have been here for 19 years. I just love it work as a library aide, half days and volunteer the rest of the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Hodson is great because the parents, students, and staff really work together to attain the high goals and expectations we have set for ourselves, which allows us to have an incredible learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

My son enjoys going to school everyday. Mrs. Hughes is very personable and knows and greets every student. The faculty and staff are wonderful and such great teachers. My son has loved every year he has been attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

We have the most dedicated staff, volunteering parents, and good kids in the state!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 21, 2009

Hodson has a great staff, a wonderful principal, uses positive reinforcement, see lots of creative ideas, always have great scores, and have fantastic students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

I love Pamela Hodson Elementary school because it is a wonderful neighborhood school, catering to our children's needs and serving them with innovative technology, qualified teachers and excellent leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2009

This is an amazing school! My kids are very fortunate to be able to attend such a great public school. There is so much parental involvement, more than most other elementaries in town. The PTO is very active and there are many opportunities for the parents to be involved. The principal and support staff are very dedicated. The counselor is very knowledgeable of both the kids and the teachers. Yes, as a previous poster said, there is a lot to learn. However, I believe that this is the new normal in education now. I don't know that it is in the best interst of the children, but it is not school specific, it is state and federally mandated. I would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

The teachers and staff are absolutely amazing! My daughter was struggling in the reading sector and her teacher offered to tutor her 3 days a week to get her up to speed. She is exactly where she needs to be and I couldn't be happier with the support we received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

The teachers and support staff at Hodson are wonderful to work with. But parents with children who struggle in school will likely have a difficult time getting the help they feel their child needs. It seems the school is forced to be hyper-focused on it's own 'state testing' scores rather than the actual child's scores. The teacher's are required to cover an enormous amount of information in a short period of time; the 'average' child will likely get left behind. Unfortunately, what Owasso Public School system considers a normal pace of learning-- most college students would call cramming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2004

Truly a fantastic school! Your child will love it here and you will love it too. Can't say enough good things about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 54%
American Indian/Alaska Native 18% 17%
Hispanic 10% 13%
Black 5% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14500 East 86th St North
Owasso, OK 74055
Phone: (918) 272-8160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT