Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Perry Middle School

Public | 6-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2013

My children attended this school for only 2 years and the experience was horrible for my youngest. In his kindergarten class there was 3 teachers and 26 kids. Then when he went into 1st grade his teacher was a bully and yelled constantly at him and several other students. I will say this my daughter had a wonderful 2nd grade teacher. Unfortunately, we have traveled a great deal and my three kids have attended many schools this school was by far the worse school. When we had to move again mid semester, perry sent only one of my children's information on to the new school. It took some doing but at the end of the school year they sent my youngest information to their current school. I am not sure exactly who is in charge at Perry Public schools (not sure they know either) but it needs to change.---
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2006

We just moved to Perry around Christmas of last year. I have heard about all these bad things that have happened in the past. However, we have found the new district administration very refreshing and positive and we see the district making great strides. The school system is not perfect, but we believe it is on the right track.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

I agree mostly with the other reviews here. We have been here over a decade and haven't been accepted into 'the circle of perry'. We are also considering moving our child from this middle school because of unresolved bullying/harassment issues. Our childs scores have been fairly good, except that some teachers have a real problem communicating with the parents. There are some real good teachers here that care, and really can make a positive difference, but because of the poor administrative leadership fail to completely reach the kids. Even with 110% parental support, it is hard for a child to enjoy learning at this school because of the favortism/bullying/harassment issues here. Something really needs to be done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

After having been here for over a decade, We have found that the Middle school system has very inconsistent leadership. Favortism to people who are originally from Perry outweighs justice. Bullying is a major issue and cannot seem to be controlled, since the rules are applied in a weighted manner. The teachers, some of which are quite good, cannot make up for poor administration. We are concerned that not all students are being treated fairly. If you are considering this school for your child, please meet with the teachers/administration and talk with them to see if your child will be accepted. It seems that girls are more easily dealt with in this middle school. The administration doesn't seem to know how to handle boys.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 16, 2005

After living here for almost 6 years, I have found that this town is very biased which is greatly reflected in the school as well. For such a small town, the students seem to have superior attitudes which is only accentuated by the favortism received by the teachers. It is hard for students to strive to excel when they do not receive the positive reinforcement from teachers and staff because they are not born in this town or their parents are not prominent. It is sad that many of the students do not feel like their accomplishments or efforts are important because the teachers and staff are not acknowledging their actions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2004

School bullying is a major issue at this school. My A student went to a low C because of the bullying. The Principal did try everything she could, within the guidelines established by the School Board. These are apparently not harsh enough. I am seriously considering transferring my child to a school in another town.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
77%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1303 15th
Perry, OK 73077
Phone: (580) 336-2577

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT