Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pocola High School

Public | 9-12 | 217 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 11, 2013

As a past attendant of Pocola High School, many of the students here are smart, but very ignorant. a very small amount of the students are African American and many of them are bullied for the color of their skin. I was one of those bullied students, the only reason that I got up in the morning, was to come to marching band practice. The Caucasian and Mexican American students and even the students that were mixed picked on me. I dated on of the band members and he had a racist grandfather, he was told that he was wrong for being with me and that he needed to never talk to me again. The classes are very slow compared to other schools, students cannot learn as much as students from other schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2011

As a 1985 graduate and mother of 3 children that attended the same school( only 2 chose to finish there. 1 transferred to Alma) I must say I'm disappointed in the school. I was proud to be an Insian but not so proud to be a parent bc the school has become a brick on the developing minds and personalities of our kids. The principal and school board run it like a prison more than a public school. Today's kids cannot be self expressive in any fashion with out being reprimanded for it. Also, it is one of the poorest schools around and for that reason the staff puts less heart in their passion to teach our children. There is little pride left in the pocola Indians teaching staff. Morale is lacking and censorship is in abundance. Maybe if tenure wasn't such a big part of who teaches/ runs our school , it would be better. Sadly though, the people in charge have it and use it to dominate the school.


Posted October 15, 2006

I think my school is a great school. We have one of the best Marching Bands in the state, our football team is amazing, and our cheerleaders are there for every game to show their spirit. The parents also give us a lot of the support we need.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2006

Most of the kids and the parents have a lot of school pride and spirit. It's seems that the same kids are the ones creating the most problems. I believe most of the teachers are very good, but as always, you have someone that wants to be a friend instead of a teacher.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 20, 2006

I am a senior at Pocola. I attended all four years of high school here. I received the school report card from the ACT. Why I ask is our math scores so low, only 13% of 2006 seniors made the state average, there is something wrong with that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2006

Pocola is a great school though they do not have a very good school board if you are an active parent you can bet that you will get what the students need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2004

Pocola High School is improving steadily from a small minded school in a small town. It has the potential to grow into a decent academic facility with the recent staffing changes. You must be very involved as a parent to insure the fair treatment of your child.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 4, 2004

I think Pocola has potential to be a great school. Things like having an art program. Every school needs an art program. No matter the cost. And Pocola has a great band. They won first place at the state marching band competition last year for one A bands. True to their slogan they are the 'Pride of Pocola'. The band and other extra curricular activities are great at Pocola. There is also a good staff on hand. And after some administration changes Pocola will be a great place to send your child to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
67%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
74%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
62%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
94%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 59%
Native American 27% 16%
Hispanic 4% 14%
Black 1% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 154%N/A61%
Special education 214%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

603 Pryor Avenue East
Pocola, OK 74902
Website: Click here
Phone: (918) 436-2042

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT