Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kildare Public School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 17, 2014

We love Kildare School! This small rural school has a staff that is very dedicated to the students' success. The small class sizes provide great one-on-one attention so any student can thrive. The principal has a genuine interest in providing an environment which allows students to be engaged and learn. The teachers all have tremendous hearts and really seem to love what they are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Kildare is the greatest small school in Kay County. The students and teachers are like family and everyone watches out for everyone else.


Posted August 22, 2013

Kildare school is small and family oriented. A great place for young students to go to learn.


Posted August 16, 2011

Many outstanding changes have been made at Kildare in the last year and it is exciting to see the turnaround. The morale amongst the teachers and school leadership seems outstanding and the one-on-one attention provided to children is great, particularly in this day and age. The school is small, but certainly has a lot of great things offered with more opportunities for all students. The staff really works hard to make the children feel welcome and fosters a learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2011

This school has made a comeback! Kildare has a new Superintendent. Hopefully it will stay open for many years to come. The atmosphere has changed for the better. If the atmosphere is better, the kids learn more. If the teachers are happy, they will teach better. Simply put!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 27, 2010

I had to move my child from this school!!!! Me and my Family live here in Kildare we moved our son from the school after his Pre-K Year. We had Mrs. Ledwig and everything was going great up to midyear then she was sticking him in the hall UN supervised and it made me think of the safety of my child. This school is not a safe school and would never put my child back through this school again. I have a Daughter that is ready to start school but will not but her in it and its kind of sad that you can t trust the safety of a school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

The only thing this school is about is reading. My kids loved to read until they went here. If they have any free time they are required to read AR books. Handwriting takes a back seat. If Kildare was the only school I could send my kids to I would home school them. They stereo-type kids the minute they walk in the doors. My son was an A-B student until he went to this school. I would check out more schools before you send your children to this school. I worked their for 2 years. My kids didnt even go there a full year because I transferred them out. Transferring them out was the best thing I did. They like to yell at students also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

We had Mrs. Ledwig for our kindergarten teacherl. My child did not attend Pre-K and I was afraid that he would be behind. We had a wonderful experience. Mrs. Ledwig taught him so much. He was bringing books home after just a 9 weeks. He is an advanced reader and I couldn't be happier. Kildare provides a small school environment and we love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 91% in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
75%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 54%
American Indian/Alaska Native 22% 17%
Hispanic 1% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Black 0% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1265 Church St
Ponca City, OK 74604
Website: Click here
Phone: (580) 362-2811

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT