Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Prue High School

Public | 9-12 | 95 students

Our school is best know for the great improvements it has made in the last 4 yea

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 16, 2011

I have lived in Prue for 21 years. I worked at the school and it was not a bad place as some of you have put in your comments. Truth is you are making your statements based on hearsay. The teachers do there job to the best of their abilities and the food was good! The kids got plenty to eat! Furthermore it is a quite little town away from all the dangers of the bigger city schools out there.


Posted March 11, 2010

I'm a former student of Prue Schools. I attended it my whole life. I graduated from there in 2007. Prue might be a small school but everyone knows everyone and everything. Not always a good thing lol. BUt I'm not ashamed to tell people where I graduated from and what school I went to. The environment there is awesome. The teachers help you out alot and they do care about you as a person. I had the nicest teachers there. When I got pregnant my senior year everyone supported me and helped me out. I think the teachers there should get paid more than they do. I thank them every chance i get because if it wasn't for them I wouldn't be where I am today.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2009

I totally disagree with the last comment made. I currently have a student attending Prue Schools and I am also a teacher. I have observed positive changes. For instance, discipline issues are at a minimum. Administration and teachers are in the halls during class transfers to monitor behavior. Students are learning more because they are learning respect and the importance of an education. My nephew attends Tulsa Public and they have to go through metal detectors where gangs are a problem. I am proud to have my child attend Prue Schools and believe our school will grow and flourish. Parents that complain should consider starting a PTA and volunteering. As far a drawing a check, most teachers could certainly make more money in a different profession so I totally disagree with the person who made the last comment that 'most teachers are there just to draw a
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

As a former student of Prue Schools, I recieved what I believe to be as good of an education as a small school can provide. However, as a parnet of two children that also atteneded Prue Schools, I can say without a doubt, that over the years the school has slowly made an ever progressing turn for the worst. It seems that most of the teachers are there just to draw a check and could care less if the students recieve an education. As for the lunches, I know I wouldn't want to eat what they serve. Prue School used to be a really great school...I believe the problem rests in the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2009

Obviously the last two reviews came from administrators trying to make the system look better. Just read the reviews from former students or the parents of said students and you can see the lack of knowledge. Seroiusly...the food is what you are worried about? How about the huge drug problem, or the gangster type attitudes of teachers and administrators? Focus on the real issue of the sub-standard education your children are receiving at Prue. And for goodness sake use spell check!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

I have graduated 2 children from Prue Schools & I have a 3rd child still in elementary. One has received a college degree and one is currently in her 3rd year at Tulsa University. My children were very prepared for college and received an excellent education at Prue Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

I am a former student at Prue School. They do play favorites and need better discipline. The people of the town run the school not the staff!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 20, 2007

As a former teacher for Prue Public Schools, I have to agree that graduates of Prue Public Schools are far behind students from surrounding school systems.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 19, 2007

I graduated from Prue, and I gave this school one star because it is the lowest I could give. The food is alright contrary to popular beliefe. The major problem is in the disipline at this school! When a young adlut does something wrong they are not always duely punished. Futhermore they don't have any insentives in place to push the students to reach higher in their learning. The teachers play favorits as well!


Posted September 8, 2007

My children graduated from Prue. If I would have known how academically behind a straight A student would be for college I would have transferred them to another school. I witnessed intemidation between students and also witness faculty intimidate a student. I have witnessed students that have drug issues allowed to be leaders of the school. The attendance pollicy is enforced based on who the student is. I have seen good teachers get ran off because they voiced their opinions in making changes for the better only to be shot down and not rehired the next year. Changes needed immediately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

I am a Prue alumni and I work with a lot of people that graduated from big schools. My education at Prue is far from substandard. Getting a good education is the responsibility of the student and the student's parents. If the student doesn't apply their self then it doesn't matter what school you go to. The problem with some parents in these small communities is that they use public school as free child care. I had no problem with school lunch ever. What people do not understand is a small school has a small budget plus over 50% of the students are on reduced or free lunch. Do the math! Teachers are not babysitters they are tools for your student to use. Be a parent and make sure your student is applying his/herself. I think Prue does well with what they have to work with.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 6, 2007

The quality of education for a small school like this one is no worse than any other school its same size. The quality of teachers here at Prue are some of the best in their professions in my opinion.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 23, 2006

Prue schools are terrible. At Prue they don't challenge the students enough, and don't have many activities for the students to join. Here the food is awful, teachers arn't challenging, and I don't see how out children get an education. This school has no attendance policy and they don't call home is your kids arn't at school. They don't have a music or band class. The high school principle doesn't know how to deal with young adults. This school needs a lot of improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2006

The school is not terrible but it does have its issues. The principle of the high school for one is an elementary principle and not accustomed to dealing with young adults. The school lunches are a joke, such as today we had a burrito and milk, with the option of old salad that sets out for hours before the last of kids come through, or an undercooked pizza slice(by itslef of course) An 18yr old senior gets the same exact meal a 5yr old kindergartener does.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2005

I've enjoyed my kid's education at Prue Schools. They have friends in other larger schools in the same grades as themself and my kids are ahead of them in their academics. The staff has always been great to talk to and we love the spirit of the prue Rockets !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

This school has many problems. For one the citizens of this town pretty much run the high school. Many students do not get into trouble because the citizens will threaten them. The cafeteria food is very awful. There has been many occassion that I have recieved a spoiled milk, meat not cooked all the way,and not enough proportion. Thats what you get for free food.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
38%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
25%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
60%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
73%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
91%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
57%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 59%
Native American 24% 16%
Black 2% 9%
Hispanic 1% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 171%N/A61%
Special education 224%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 85% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 2% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 13% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation TCU
OSU
OU
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Tom Scully
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (918) 242-3888

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Science club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
95
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
96

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
TCU
OSU
OU
College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 85%
Military - 2%
Workforce - 13%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

104 Broadway
Prue, OK 74060
Phone: (918) 242-3351

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Central 9th Grade Center
Sand Springs, OK



Charles Page High School
Sand Springs, OK


Cleveland High School
Cleveland, OK



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT