Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Northwoods Fine Arts Academy

Public | K-2

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2014

Worse school I could imagine any child attending. My child is advanced and the teacher, along with the principal is purposely holding my child back. There is NO qualitative or intelligent communication to the parents. My child has attended this school for two years and the environment, as well as the teachers have progressively gotten worse. I will be pulling my child out and they will be attending private school from now on!!! What a waste of taxpayers dollars of a school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My son has struggled in school and transitioning. He has shown tremendous improvement. this school has shown more one on one interaction as a teacher, then any other school hes attended. I am pleased with the overall educational value Northwood Fine Arts holds for their teachers and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

I love this school. I have had my son in several schools (Tulsa and Sapulpa) and they just treated my son like he was a problem and ignored him. My son is special needs and they take such good care of him, they work with him so he can do his best and overcome his disability. Moved to Sand Springs just for this school and for my son to get the help and education he deserves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

I know for a fact that each class had 24 to 25 students in a class last year. My daughter went there her teacher was unfriendly and had no classroom management skills. I know for a fact she tried several times to blame the families for incidences that took place in her classroom and when the principal was asked to do something or if we requested a transfer to another class she refused. My daughter will not be going there next year. This school is not family friendly and their staff tries to cover up issues that have taken place in that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2013

The school staff and adminastration have issues. I had two children there last school year. My children were bullied and nothing was done about by adminastration or by the teacher. They do not want to work with families. I know many families who have asked to have their children transferred or the family just up and moved so their children could go to a better school. This school really has a problem but still sticks to the same old philosphy of it is all the parents fault.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

Northwoods is a great school. Both of my children have gone through this school and have had great teachers/experiences there. the school is brand new in a beautiful area. The teachers go above and beyond my expectations to give the kids opportunities they may not experience otherwise. NFAA also had art as a resource which the other schools don't have and that is something my children loved! The PTO is also amazing! As a parent I can't ask for a better place for my children to begin their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

I cannot express how impressed I am with this school! The leadership and staff are wonderful and I feel so fortunate that my daughter has the opportunity to learn, grow, and build her educational foundation there! So thank you Northwoods for being such a blessing in our lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2010

We were very disappointed with this school. The principal is uncooperative and difficult to get an appointment with or phone call from. The education is sub-par and the teachers speak very harshly with the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

I think this school is great. My daughter is in kindergarten there and she loves it. Not only is my daughter reading above her age level but she is learning more than I would have imagined. I am glad that she has this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

Very dissappointed in my child's education at this school. The first 6 weeks there was no full-time teacher. Substitutes came in and out of the classroom until a fulltime teacher finally came aboard. The first parent teacher conference the substitute for the week did not even attend and no one could tell me how my child was doing. Now 2 months before school is over, the teacher has finally mentioned that we need to have a conference since my child is having difficulty. There has been almost no communication from this teacher throughout the year on my child's progress. Homework assignments do not have clear instructions. It is difficult to get in contact with the teacher and several days go by without a return call. Notes to the teacher go without notice or return comments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

Well i attend this school as well in the 80's and my children attend it now. So i think that its an awesome school and distict. The teachers and principle are nice and friendly and ever one works together. They have awesome programs, and the timeout room is a great wonder if you have a child that is kinda wild. this school knows how too treat and handle the disabilty kido's that need one on one attention for help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

I have had two children attend this school. The leadership there is lacking. The principle is not parent friendly, drop off and pick up is terrible. The should offer a before school program to help working families. They have had a large teacher turn over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2005

This is a mediocre school. I attended is in the late 80's and it was great. My mother had no issues with the quality of education then. However, now it is under 'new' management. The principal is fair at best. She does not like confrontation about issues with teachings styles, teachers, or issues regarding her students. It wasn't until the fifth conversation on the same issue that my concerns were even addressed. Some of the teachers are great and some are terrible. I have talked with several other parents who feel about the same. If you are going to be living in this school district, I suggest you put in for a transfer or you are truly gambling with your child's education. Quality is not a word to be associated with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 54%
American Indian/Alaska Native 18% 17%
Hispanic 8% 13%
Black 3% 10%
Two or more races 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 98%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (918) 246-1458

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1691 E. Old North Rd
Sand Springs, OK 74063
Phone: (918) 246-1455

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pratt Elementary School
Sand Springs, OK


Moriah Christian Academy
Sand Springs, OK





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT