Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Anderson Public School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

my son has been attending anderson for the past two years , he is now in second grade and he loves this school . I have seen much improvement in his learning since transferring him from Northwoods.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2014

Bullying, substandard curriculum, most of the staff is unfriendly and very cliquish. After school the impression I receive was the staff was in a hurry to load the children in the vehicles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2011

Well McKee is no longer principal. He will have nothing to do with students, he will be superintendent. Banker will deal with the children. Many parents felt that McKee was very touchy feely with the students!


Posted May 5, 2010

This school is horrible! I transferred my 8 yr old daughter here, when we moved. At first, I thought it would be great. However, she is subjected to constant bullying, coming home with physical marks, bald spots on her head, her backpack full of bugs. When she tells her teacher, her teacher does nothing. Nor does Mr. McKee. I have made several phone calls to resolve the issues, spoke to her teacher and was told she would schedule a conference with me. Two weeks later, still no word. I will be going directly to the School Board about this and pulling my child. Do not send your children here. Additionally, their newsletters and notices are full of spelling and grammar mistakes. Isn't that a bit odd for a school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

Anderson has in my opinion the best school district in the country! Our children could not do better in a private school. We love there back to basics approach and the personal atmosphere the school offers. The principal is out greeting the children and parents every morning and seems to know them all by name. I think that if the country were to model its schools after Anderson we would find our children excelling academically, while at the same time enjoying their educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

We are raising our 2 grandsons, so, we moved from the large urban school system to the 'country' outside of Sand Springs. We have been so delighted to have such an incredible school for our boys! Anderson has been 'in the country' for over 100 years, yet it was hard to believe that such a school as this exists in today's world. The principal, teachers and staff are the nicest & most competent professionals we have encountered in our parenting roles as well as caring about each individual student. The parent involvement is very high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2005

Our two daughters attend Anderson and we love this school, we decided not to move until all of our children go to and complete Anderson our youngest son is 2months so we will be here a long time! The teachers are great, the principle is wonderful with the students and staff and makes sure he knows each student. There is alot of parent involvment more then any other school we have dealt with. Our daughters are challenged in their school work and by the teachers to excell everyday. We are very happy about our decision to move to this school district and plan on being around and involved in the school for a long time to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2005

I moved my daughter out of our district to go to school at Anderson. I went to school at Anderson and received a lot of one-on-one attention that created the foundation for my later graduations with top honors from highschool and college. I think my daughter's kindergarten teacher is excellent. The environment fosters good social development and the school's educational program is well rounded. The children are physical, creatively and intellectually stimulated. The parent participation in Anderson's activities is high and and occurs daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

my son is in the 6th grade and he has been going here since kindergarden. This is a very family oriented school. The children come first to the teachers and staff. The teachers have very creative minds. There have been a few instances where their safety was a priority and handled very well and quickly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

My husband went to Anderson Elem. and we currently have a 5th grader. Overall, we have been extreemly happy with all aspects of Anderson. We have never seen so much parent participation, they even take off work during the day to attend functions. Well balanced, home cooked food for breakfast and lunch. The class size has always been great, average of 12-15 except this year our child has 28 due to only 1 5th grade class. We wish this would change as I think the students due much better on a smaller scale classroom. Also, they need more parking space! We love our little country school. Wish we could keep this kind of atmosphere all the way to 12th grade!! We would never think of having our child go anywhere else and thank the staff at Anderson for their major role in his development.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

30 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 59%
Native American 11% 16%
Hispanic 4% 14%
Black 2% 9%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 159%N/A61%
Special education 213%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Max Myers

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Track
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2195 Anderson Rd
Sand Springs, OK 74063
Website: Click here
Phone: (918) 245-0289

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Keystone Public School
Sand Springs, OK




Pratt Elementary School
Sand Springs, OK




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT