Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pretty Water Public School

Public | PK-8 | 254 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2014

Awesome school, just wish they had a High School. Pretty Water also has one of the best Superintendents in the State.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2013

I have had mostly great experiences with 2 of my children at this school, however the pre k program is completely a mess. No structure, little guidance, kids running wild with little supervision. I am surprised no one has been seriously hurt yet. Upper grade teachers seem to have better control if their classrooms, but what an unfortunate way to start a schhol experience. The teacher is kind, but does poor job managing her classroom and challenging her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2011

My daughter attends the Pre-K Program the teacher is wonderful with the kids. She teaches the kids their basic letters, sight words, some spanish, and sign language. I really love her teaching methods and shes so patient. But the class sizes are way too big, bullying is a issue, and cliches in prek are a issue. I pulled my daughter out of the program due to these problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2010

My daughter is attending their prek program. The program is a full day prek that offers spanish and sign language classes. She has learned so much and her teachers are wonderful. Everyone in her school are very nice. The school is small and the so are the classes. So everyone knows everyone. So I am happy that she loves her school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

As a retired teacher grandparent, I would like to say 'thank you' to the pre-kindergarten teacher. My grandson got a wonderful start in school-discipline, academics, social skills, and manners. He loves school and looks forward to his kindergarten teacher. Pretty Water, just keep up the positive attitudes and hard work for these kids. You are doing an A+ job. Love, Grandma!


Posted January 4, 2008

Pretty Water just has an extended family feel. I know that my kids are being taught by teachers who really care. They really go the extra mile to make kids understand what is being taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

I am a parent that did not attend school here as a child and my daughter has just started her first year. I think my impression of the school is a very good so far. They seem to do a lot for a smaller country school. With new bond money coming I look forward to the new facilities and the future looks good for Pretty Water.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

Pretty Water is a wonderful little country school. Our children love it there! Their grades have gone up since switching to this school, and I have seen a heightened creativity in both of them, especially in regard to writing (stories, essays, etc.), music, and art [independently speaking--e.g., things they do on their own.] The school provides good contact between parents and teachers, utilizing TeacherWeb to give me access to their grades on a regular basis. There is a strong emphasis on sports, but not to the expense of academics. Overall, I think Pretty Water is a really great school with equally great leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2005

Pretty Water just gets in your blood. I went to school there and now my children attend there. It's like the kids all become one big family, watching out and protecting one another. This DOES allow for a no-bullying policy. The stafff is always helpful and I know that my children are well protected and being taught when I leave them at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2003

Pretty Water Elementary has a wonderful staff of the most caring and compassionate teachers that I have ever known. All of the children are highly motivated to learn. Differences in the children, whether it be race, religion, or gender, are celebrated and explored, allowing and encouraging the children to be themselves and to be proud of who they are. This allows bullying among the children to be almost non-existent.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

25 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

25 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
86%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

18 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

18 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

23 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
50%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2012.

23 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 91% in 2012.

23 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

23 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 81% in 2012.

23 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

21 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2012.

21 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
65%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

19 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

19 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
78%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

19 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2012.

18 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

18 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2012.

18 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

18 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2012.

18 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 54%
American Indian/Alaska Native 28% 18%
Asian 2% 2%
Black 0% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15223 West 81st St South
Sapulpa, OK 74066
Phone: (918) 224-4952

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT