Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lone Star Public School

Public | PK-8 | 737 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2014

U need to upgrade your buildings and expand hallways and get better lunches nobody eats them now they are terrible I can have lone star school shut down for that fix your food and also whatch your children Payton may phew is a bully he picks on people a lot whatch him he acts good around teachers but is mean to other students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

I'm posting to see if anyone will email me a picture of the old Lone Star School that is across the street from the current Lone Star School. My father attended that school in 1912 and I have a picture of all the students and their teachers (probably the principal and a female teacher) that I would be happy to share.


Posted January 25, 2013

I suggest a school like kiefer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is quite a bit better than lonestar school!!!!!


Posted August 21, 2012

I went to Lone Star from K-8th grade and CRIED for days when I had to leave! Then cried again when I had to start the next school year at Sapulpa High (Not that Sapulpa is a bad school). I was already in G/T classes at Lone Star so when I transferred to Sapulpa I was VERY ahead. Not only are Lone Star students smarter overall, they are much more well-behaved. I was shocked by the behavior of a lot of the students from other schools. Even now that I'm 24 and almost finished with college (I hope to be a teacher at Lone Star in the near future) nearly all of my Lone Star classmates have grown into respectable members of society. Lone Star is a FANTASTIC school and I will cry once again if I'm lucky enough to be hired as a teacher there!


Posted August 15, 2011

Lone Star is an amazing school with a top notch staff who highly encourage parent envolvement. The small class sizes accompanied with passionate and committed teachers makes for an ideal learning environment for my children!! We feel very blessed to be a part of this wonderful school family!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2010

I transferred from another elementary school as well, from California, and I can tell you that the staff there, as well as the Principal especially, were very attentive. The principal even knew my name and asked me about my family all the time. They just expected that their students were ALREADY smart, and they treated us that way. They never spoke down to us as students, and they helped us any way they possibly could to learn. Of course, I felt a lot smarter than I probably was, but I was definitely prepared for high school and scored really high on my testings. I always felt like I was challenged just the right amount. I also was in the band, and Mr. Robertson was AMAZING. He sure whipped us into shape because he saw so much potential in us. I dont know if he is still there, but I played the clarinet. I started taking private lessons as well in 8th grade, and the teacher I had said (who was a college level) said that he couldn't teach me anymore because I already had the skills that he had.) The school just feels like another home, where kids are treated with warmth and just the right amount of discipline and are given expectations to live up to. It was GREAT!


Posted September 16, 2009

My granddaughters love Lone Star School, they say it is the best school ever


Posted May 12, 2009

Good school? OK, I can agree to a certain extent. Except, bullying is a real issue but tends to be ignored, teachers and administrators continue not recognize that it's a problem. Test scores are declining as well as teacher attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

Lone Star is an Excellent school with excellent teachers and staff. My child love it and I feel they really give the parents an opportunity to be involved in their child's education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

My mom transferred me to this school in the 3rd grade. I was so upset at the time b/c it meant that I would be leaving behind all of my friends. It wasn't until Junior High that I realized it was the best thing she could ever have done for me. I was two years ahead in math and science. I am now the parent of two and have transferred both of my children there as well. I still see the same academic excellence as I did when I was a student there.. My children are a 3rd generation of Lone Star kids!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

This a real good school they also have great test grades
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2007

Any school is only as good as its teachers and staff. Lone Star excels in this area, providing bright, caring teachers and involved administration. I am at the school often working on PTO projects or trying to help teachers and stay in touch with what's going on. If other parents did the same, they would see how lucky we are to have our children as part of the Lone Star 'family.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

My son is a transfer student and attends Lone Star. I went as a child k-8th, the only regrets I have is they don't go thru high school.Best school in the state. I'm a proud to be a Lone Star parent. Keep up the good work Mr.Pritz.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

I have two children who attend Lone Star. They are transfer students, and Lone Star is worth the drive. My children have excelled under the leadership of wonderful teachers who care about their students. The music department puts on wonderful programs in which all students are allowed to 'shine'. The band is amazing. The band and choir have done excellent jobs at contest. Lone Star is small enough that teachers are able to get to know their students and take an interest in their lives. My son's teacher has attended baseball and basketball games outside of school just to show her support of her students. They have a weekly assembly which focuses on teaching responsibility and respect for our country and friends. My 7 year old can not only quote Martin Luther King, Jr., but also tell me the meaning behind the quote. There should be more schools like Lone Star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2005

I have been transferring my daughter to Lone Star since pre-K (she's going in to fifth now) because it is such a wonderful school. This is not to say that there aren't a few substandard teachers and some bullies, but what school is completely free of them? Academically they excel. My daughter's science notes from 4th grade were almost identical to mine from a college level Bio for Majors. As for the administration, I have never had a problem that Mr. Pritz the superintendant failed to handle to my satisfaction. My daughter does not play basketball, and I do not feel that sports are shoved down our throats like they are at her friend's schools. The only thing bad about Lone Star is that it only goes through the 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

I have been very pleased with Lone Star School. This is our first year since moving to the area. My son's teacher has been excellent and the communication line is always open. The principal and staff have handled our problems very well. My son really enjoys lunch. I have been disappointed in the PARENT involvement. Should be more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

I went to Lonestar School when I was a child and I wanted my child to have the opprotunity to go to a school with good qualified teachers. I don't think you can find any better. The teachers and staff make it almost impossible for the parents not to want to be involved. Everything they do and learn is so much fun and really reminds me of my years at Lone Star.I am glad that they still have an excellant music/band program, and that they use music in their everyday classroom lessons to help the children learn. I think Lone Star is the Best school in Oklahoma, and I am very proud my kids go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2005

I have had three children attend Lone Star School and am very pleased with their academic experience. They were very well prepared for Jr.High/HS academics and have excelled because of the excellent preparation they received at Lone Star. The teachers and adminstration have a very good reputation in the community for academic excellance. Parents have many opportunities to be involved with their children in extracurricular activities as well as parent organizations in the school. Sapulpa is very fortunate to have such a wonderful school in their area. As a parent, I have had many wonderful memories to share with my children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2005

In this school there is quite a lot of bullying. Teachers do not want to get involved with stopping it and the principal won't get involved. Among the staff there is a lot of backstabbing. I am on the staff here and I don't approve of the accounting department talking about what others make and how they spend their budget, especially the other funded programs such as title 1. Again the principal doesn't get involved with this. I agree that this school should have an overhaul. Start with administration.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted January 2, 2005

Lone Star is a great school if your child excells at basketball. I agree with another writer/parent that there is too much bullying in this school. The principal doesn't care if there is anything done about it or not. The PTO slams fundraisers down our throats til we are sick of it. Teachers don't care about the children like they should as long as they get tenure. I think a complete overhaul is long over due for this school. Try talking at school board meeting and you get shut down fast. That is why no one attends them. This is my child's last year here and my other child will not be returning to this school either. I will transfer him out of this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
72%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 54%
American Indian/Alaska Native 25% 17%
Black 5% 10%
Hispanic 4% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2945 South Hickory St
Sapulpa, OK 74066
Website: Click here
Phone: (918) 224-0201

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT