Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Liberty Academy

Private | PK-12 | 315 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Shawnee

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $94,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $572.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2010

Liberty Academy is a top notch school. It has a wonderful environment and the curriculum is superb. The extracurricular activitis are also very good. They offer volleyball, basketball, soccer, track and they also have an academic team. They also offer advanced placement classes. As shown, I have nothing but good things to say about this school. As an graduate, I reccomend it to all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 30, 2010

I would recommend Liberty Academy to every Christian parent that wants to see their child excel above the norm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2009

I love Liberty Academy. My children are at least a year ahead of the public school children. I should know I work for the public school. Unfortunately, the public schools have to spend so much time on large class size and discipline issues they don't have the freedom to teach what they want to teach. At Liberty, they teach superior academics, morals, and discipline. I'm very thankful to have this economical choice of schools for my kids. If you are looking for a school that has high expectations coupled with christian values this school is for you. Granted it's not for everyone but it's right for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

My children both attended Liberty Academy from the time they were in preschool through 12th grade. One of my children attended the University of Okahoma, along with several of his Liberty classmates. His act score more than met the minimum requirement of OU. My other child graduated from Oklahoma State University. There are Liberty graduates who are now doctors, lawyers, teachers, and even one who dances in Chicago in the popular musical 'Wicked.' In the fall of 2007 a Parent/Teacher organization was formed and has been a huge success. I feel my children received an excellent education and have benefited greatly from their experience at Liberty Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

I think Liberty is an amazing school and the teachers are really dedicated to their students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 12, 2007

Great school. Caring, loving teachers and staff who are interested in students achieving the highest they can. Christian centered learning environment w/superior academic standards. Would recommend to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2007

The academic program at Liberty Academy is the best in the county. The school offers music, drama, basketball, cheerleading, volleyball, track and golf. The extracurricular activities offered are top notch. The high school basketball teams have one several state championships. Due to the relatively small school size and tight budget, they are unable to offer other sports such as baseball, softball and football. Contrary to some reviews, the school does encourage parental involvement when it comes to academics and extracurricular activity fundraising. The school does not have 'parent booster clubs' like many public schools. The discipline is strict in comparison to the public school environment. The school does not have much tolerance for repeat poor behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

My kids go to Liberty. The school is excellent. Strong in academics and more importantly helps students to become the people God wants them to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2007

I was a student at Liberty and now send my child there--which I believe shows that it is indeed a quality school. Liberty does have high expectations for the students, but I view that as a great thing--I expect the best from my child as well! And if there is a problem with parental involvement it is that...a teacher is always available--you just have to ask!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 26, 2007

I have went to this school and I have to say it is not so good. Even though this school is 'advanced' they do not get the basics in. Every teacher at the school has a good heart but stop the unfairness. They need to straighten out some of the kids and give them some free time, these are kids for crying out loud!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 13, 2006

My children currently attend Liberty School. I am also a Shawnee public school substitute teacher. My children's academics accedes far above children in the public school system. I am an active participant in my children's academics. The staff a Liberty are quality educators and have the upmost integrity. Principals have met with me at moment notices and have met with teachers to follow my children's improvement. When there are activities, I find more parents attend than those of public schools. I am secure with the safety my children receive at Liberty. I highly recommend Liberty School. Some parents and children, however, may not be ready for Liberty's high academic standards, discipline, and Christian influence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

Liberty was a disappointment. There is also no parental involvement, as this is not encouraged by the 'school'. This school is not accredited which was an unpleasant shock as my children must be re-tested to enter school next year, either public or private. The bulletin boards are cute, but overall that is the best part about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

My son attended the Pre-K classes for three years. His social skills improved during that time and he mastered many academic skills. Liberty administered the Kindergarten Readiness test during his third year there. My son was deemed 'not ready' for kindergarten after taking this test. Subsequent testing by outside sources (developmental specialists) revealed that my was indeed ready for kindergarten. In fact, his vocabulary was that of a 9-year-old. Liberty would not allow re-testing by their staff to confirm this. Subsequently, my son will go to kindergarten elsewhere. I feel that the school's standards are too rigid and do not allow for the needs of children who do not automatically conform to their criteria of 'acceptable'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2005

My children have gone to Liberty Academy for 3 years now. During this time I have seen a drastic improvement in the Reading program, encouraging children to excel. The Elementary principal really works with the parents in meeting their child's individual needs. However, the area that I am least impressed with is the fact that there is not any real type of parent/teacher organization. There is one conference at the beginning of the year, lasting approximately 15 minutes. It is difficult to be involved with the teacher and to get any type of insight into what is going on in the classroom and with your child specifically. I also believe that if more parents could be involved, there would be more volunteers for various projects, therefore taking a load off of the teachers. Overall, I would recommend Liberty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2004

Liberty is a wonderful school with caring teachers and staff. The academic standards are high and the classroom size small with a stirct code of conduct making the classroom and school environment very conducive to learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 58%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 17%
Hispanic 3% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 1176
Shawnee, OK 74802
Phone: (405) 273-3022

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT