Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grove Public School

Public | PK-8 | 431 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 7, 2013

This is a small school with a great environment for children to learn in. The teachers all love their students and would do anything to help them out.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 6, 2012

I agree with the posts of August 3 2012 and June 2, 2012, bullying is not addressed by teachers or administration when observed or brought to their attention by parents. Their main concern seems to be maintaining a "model school " status.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2012

My grandchild attended this school for the first time. Although we didn't experience bullying from other children, we did have several classroom issues and we too met with the administration. We also were presented with a feeling that it was all going to be handled. We had concerns that if we made a fuss, we would get the boot letter. Issues were not handled and guess what we got the same Sorry our school is now full and transfer denied. After all our grandson went through and ourselves, we now see it as a blessing. Do not look at the cover of the book, look at what is inside it. To the Post on June 2, 2012. Follow your heart and protect your child there is better and greater things awaiting her.


Posted June 2, 2012

My child has attended Grove the last 3 years because of all the great things we had heard. My child always felt like an outsider from day one. They had trouble fitting in with the other children due to not having the latest technology or wearing the latest fashion of clothes. My child was constantly told she looked pregnant and was fat and ugly. My child had numerous others push her, kick her and be aggressive towards her. Countless incidents were reported. My child came home in tears every night saying they hated that school. The administration would act as if they would take care of the issue and then sweep it under the rug. We were told our child was not being bullied, but that there was only a conflict between the children. Once a child reacts to the bullying it is considered a conflict. Once we addressed multiple issues and escalated them, we were blacklisted and received a letter saying our transfer was denied due to growth in the school district. We have had another friend whose child experienced bullying this year and received same letter. The administration refuses to address bullying because they don't want their "model" school image to be tarnished with problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

The teachers and staff really love the kids and help them reach their full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2010

I have been impressed with the academics at this school as well as the family atmosphere. My children both had terrific, caring, professional educators this past year who nurtured them and helped boost their confidence. Kudos to Grove!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

The curriculum is about average, but we have had problems with bullying and the administration is unwilling to get involved unless the parent makes it an issue (as we have had to do several times.) One of my child's teachers dropped the F-bomb in class and used other profane language. Some of the teachers don't seem able to control their classes, either. The school is very clique-ish so expect that. Most of the teachers are good as stated by other reviewers, however, in looking at academic rankings, Grove doesn't place higher than Shawnee schools. This is a good school, but its far from great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

This is by far the best school in the Shawnee area. I too wish that the school was able to take students all the way thru highschool. These are the most well-rounded students I have seen. The test results show it, their community involvement is prominent, and they are excelling in music, arts, computer skills. Most teachers have been around a long time, most have their masters, they expect your best each day. I love this school just as much as my daughter does!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

The school is fantastic! Academics are stressed above all else. Students are taught respect and responsibility. The curriculum goes above the state requirement. Students are prepared to achieve above their peers at other schools. The teachers are all 100% highly qualified. The district constantly striving for improvement. They just completed a massive expansion and modernization project nearly doubling the size of the school and providing several amazing aesthetics. My children are happy, and enjoy going to school. They truly love their teachers! Have you ever seen kids that were upset at a snow day? They didn't want to miss the class activities their teachers had planned. What a shock. My biggest complaint is that the school only goes from pre-k to eighth grade. Why no high school? Come on guys, get with the program - Go K-12. This is truly a superior school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2009

Great school I was discouraged when the third and fourth grade did not have a christmas program again from last grade third graders. They left the school instead that is a musical and acting department that should involve all grades within the school they should. They have home comeing for the eighth grades, dances and so forth I can't believe that children are mising out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2008

The curriculum is great. Unfortunately many good families have removed their children from this school because bullies are allowed to rule the fifth grade and up. I was told by a teacher to 'just wait until next year. It will get better because all of the bullies are going to move to SMS to play football.' It has been a sad nightmare for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

Grove is very strong academically and offers most sports. Students are well-prepared to enter high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

39 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
69%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

30 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

28 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 59%
Native American 19% 16%
Hispanic 7% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Black 2% 9%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Special education 112%N/A15%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 223%N/A61%
Source: 1 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sheril Payne

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2800 North Bryan Street
Shawnee, OK 74804
Website: Click here
Phone: (405) 275-7435

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT