Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Marrs Elementary School

Public | PK-2

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2014

my school is Marrs Elementary in Skiatook OK. My grand kids have gone there since kindergarten except for one year/ that year was lost to them in a inferior school in Tulsa. Marrs cares, loving teachers, office staff that knows all the kids, great programs. There has never been a bad day for my little ones at Marrs. They are growing up and I hope they can all graduate from the Skiatook system. I couldn't be happier with the education these kids are getting. I have nothing but the best to say about Skiatook Schools


Posted January 14, 2014

I feel like their is no help for your child if the teacher thinks he has ADHD. Their suggestion is to put the child on drugs. The child is a foster child. Have they ever consider a lot of the child's problem might be adjusting to losing their family. Every child wants their biological parents to raise them. This does not necessarily mean that because the child is not always good that they need to be put on drugs. Give the child a break contact the parents when their isn't a problem so they can see if it is a pattern that is causing the misbehavior. There are other methods of helping a child besides drugs. The teacher can not determine this within two months. I am not saying the teacher isn't doing her job I am saying that some children need a little time to adjust to all the changes going on in their life.


Posted October 28, 2013

This school was wonderful as far as the teachers go, but there was little to no supervision on the playground. My son reported incidents to me such as kids pulling down their pants and urinating on the tires on the playground, fighting (arranged by second graders), bullying, rock throwing, kids pulling legs off of frogs and insects, just to mention a few. When I asked him where the teachers were when this was occurring, he told me that the teachers don't go to recess, just the helpers do. Then he said that they "sit around on chairs and talk to each other during recess." Nice! When I reported this to the principal, her response to me was, "well, what do you want me to do about it?" Given that opening, I gave her an earful of what I wanted her to "do about it". She refused, citing "privacy reasons." So, I told her, "forget it, I'll take care of it." I then called the parents that I knew and told them of the incidents. Needless to say, they were horrified and put a stop to the behavior of their children. Every day that I dropped my son off at this school, I felt like a horrible parent for leaving him at this dirty ghetto school. Somehow he survived this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

We moved to Skiatook 2 years ago and we have had a wonderful experience at Marrs. My son was diagnosed with ADD and the teachers have been extremely helpful and supportive. I LOVE Marrs! Sharon Langenberg
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2004

Marrs Elementry is a GREAT School. The teachers, Principal and all there staff want to make sure the kids learn what they need to, no matter what it takes.I could not have found a better school for my children in our area.The staff has patience,respect,loyalty,love, and dedecation for all it's students. They also have wonderful programs for the handycap children, in which my son will start next year.I know he is gonna love going to school at ECC and Marrs. THANKS FOR LISTENING, Hope everyone has the best experence that I have had with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2004

When I was moving to Skiatook, my realtor was unfamiliar with the schools. The Marrs principal told me of the 1/2 day preschool, full day Kindergarten, Transitional 2nd grade and assistants in the classrooms. We moved here and my children excelled with the excellent and experienced staff and principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2004

Skiatook school are the best. Would not trade another school for my kid's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My oldest child is currently attending school here and the teachers are wonderful. They really care about the children and the involve the parents a lot. Three cheers for Skiatook!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

My children used to go to Sand Springs public schools where saftey is a nightmare and children aren't taught if they aren't perfect; they are tossed aside and labled. Thank goodness for Marrs and Skiatook public schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 59%
Native American 26% 16%
Hispanic 3% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Black 0% 9%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 155%N/A61%
Special education 28%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1100 South Osage
Skiatook, OK 74070
Phone: (918) 396-2295

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Wilson Elementary School
Collinsville, OK


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT