Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Temple High School

Public | 9-12 | 53 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 12, 2013

Why has temple public school system lost so many kids to surrounding school's? These are all good families that have raised excellent and well behaved children that respect others. Kids who's parents were raised in Temple, make good money and support the town but are now sending their children to Randlett, Waurika, Walter's, Grandview and Comanche schools. I wonder what is wrong here? What is the common denominator to the reasons behind the removal of so many grade school and high school children?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

No band, no soccer, no choir, no after school program's, no after school tutoring, no gifted and talented programs, no pep club, no types of show and tell or arts programs, pitiful special education program, no plays or programs put on by students, no music classes for elementary students, there are only 150 kids or less from Pre-k thru 12th grade total instead of 250 they say they have and this school offers nothing but the bare minimum to get by. Why is it that all of the graduating seniors the last few years that go on to college must enroll in remedial English and math classes?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 12, 2013

I was so proud of my sons end of instruction scores. They were really high except one problem. As I was bragging on him, he asked that I not brag because he really didn't earn the results because the teachers gave the class the answers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2012

I believe this school system has plenty to offer any child attending.. I don't understand why so much negativity is pooring in toward this school. Remember, what you get out of something is usually what you put into it. Trash In = Trash Out
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

It seems to be one battle after another to try and get anything done with these people. I do not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2008

we have had a lot of trouble with this school and i would not recommend you put your child there. they have labled my child a troublemaker and have consisently failed to put out the effort and environment for my child to learn and get to the level that he should be at. much lip service but not enough action
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

I like this school. If education is what your after this is the school for you. This is a small town school. The teacher's and administration care about your child, your child's learning, and your child's abilities. I rate this school as being very well rounded! Some times the smaller the better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2007

The school has very little to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 87% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
36%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
77%
English II

The state average for English II was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
English III

The state average for English III was 96% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests End-of-Instruction (OCCT EOI) exams to test students in high school in several subjects. The OCCT EOI is a high school graduation requirement. The OCCT EOI exams are standards-based tests, which means they measure specific skills defined for each subject by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 59%
Hispanic 21% 14%
Black 14% 9%
Native American 5% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 163%N/A61%
Special education 222%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

206 School Street
Temple, OK 73568
Phone: (580) 342-6221

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT