Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Berryhill Es South

Public | PK-6 | 652 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2014

We love Berryhill schools. Great teachers, administrators and parents. It is a small community and I know that the teachers would do anything to keep my children safe. We would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2012

The main focus is on the 'in crowd' and football. If your family didn't grow up here, then you aren't in the clique. There is a nice football field- but NO computer classes for elementary, NO gifted & talented program, and field trips average about 1 per year, or some years 0. Curriculum is mainly worksheets, repetitive & boring, with a learn it or don't attitude, very outdated styles of teaching and discipline. The staff does have high expectations for the students, but not many are willing to put effort into helping students reach the expectations. We've been extremely disappointed with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

Berryhill Public Schools is a small district in a large city. Students get the attention needed to ensure success from grade to grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2008

I am very pleased with Berryhill Elementary. The Administration. teachers, staff, students and parents all work very well together. It feels like family! The daily behavior reports in Thursday folders are very informative. It is a system that is run throughout the entire elementary school and each child knows from the 1st day they attend Berryhill what is expected of them. Great school!! We love it!! Go Chiefs!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2008

We have been terribly unimpressed by the lack of professionalism among the teachers and administration. With such a small district, there seems to be little or no accountability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

We moved to Berryhill the year my daughter started Pre-K. My husband and I have been very impressed with the community, the care and concern the teachers have for the students, and the values of the school. It may seem small, but it is certainly refreshing just knowing that all teachers and staff have YOUR child's best interest at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

Overall this school has been a big disappointment. Teachers spend too much time teaching students how to excel on state testing rather than on actual academic curriculum. The Indian Education program is basically non-existent, yet the school receives funding for one. The school needs to invest more in educational programs, IT, language, arts, etc, but instead, funding always seems to go to sports programs. Suggestions and complaints seem to fall on the deaf ears of apathetic school administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

I agree with the last 2 reviews; with an additional concern. I don't feel there is enough parent teacher interaction. I know that in the past class information was made available thru 'yourclasspage.com'. But, to my knowledge there is nothing made available to parents. So, far this year the Berryhill School system has been very disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

Berryhill is not all it is cracked up to be. I pulled my 2 children out this last year. We had moved to the area from Jenks and are now back at Jenks. Berryhill is great if you are part of the 'clique'. They do not welcome outsiders and are very stuck up. It is also such a small school that at the upper levels there are many classes not offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

We are very concerned about the schools here, and are working on moving our kids out of the system. In my opinion there is an inconsistent punishment policy. There seem to be few academic opportunities and a very limited selection of educational courses. We ve had only a couple of good teachers, with 3 kids and 4 years in the system. I have voiced some of my concerns to the school administration and have been made to feel like I am being a troublemaker. I don t feel like there is an open door policy for parents here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2006

We have been happy with Berryhill. It is a close knit, small community. Many of the parents attended the school as kids, everyone knows everyone. It also feels a little like a Christian school. They do not teach any religion, it is a public school but most of the families, teachers attend church around here, my kids are always invited to go to church with friends. I feel like their education level is very good. If your child is gifted and academically, Berryhill may not have everything you are looking for. They do have advanced placement Math and Reading, but just how advanced I am not sure. I am amazed at the parent involvement in elem. and jr-hi school. In elem. teachers recognize students each week at Friday assmemblys for: birthdays, kindness towards another student or helping a teacher, good attendance, students are made to feel good about themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

I am very impressed with berryhill schools. We have a very tight family oriented community. The teachers are very well aware of every students needs and are very attentive. I could not think of a better place for my 5 children to get a better education then at berryhill. I've had 2 of my children go to another school district and was not at all satisfied with the community involvment or their expectations of their students. Berryhill schools go beyond expectations, the band is exceptional, the sports at all ages are phenomenal, and all extracurricular activities are unbelievable; that includes 'release time' to the local church.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

Academics are above average. Wide variety of activities for kids. Strong sports program. No soccer though. Parents and teachers are very involved with their children there are quite a few teachers whose children go to Berryhill. There are many people that devote their time and money to the success of Berryhill. Berryhill is very close to downtown Tulsa but remains to this day a hometown environment. You are not a number at Berryhill the teachers and principals pretty much know everyone. Very Impressed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

We have 2 children attending Berryhill Schools, my oldest has been attending for nine years. My husband also attended Berryhill Schools from Kindergarten to graduation. Many past students have either stayed in the area or have moved back for their children to attend Berryhill. The community bond in this small town is incredible. The parental involvement is exceptional. Many volunteer several days a week,if not every day. We have parents and teachers who have created programs to give children incentives in learning and building character. Our school is old and small, dating back to just before statehood. The quality of our school is inside it's modest walls, in our teachers/staff. Our teachers/staff are extremely gifted and take pride in their 'learning styles' approach to education, in that every child learns their own way, and every child is counted and cared for. Go Chiefs! 2004 Football State Champions! We own the field!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2004

My children have attended Berryhill schools for six years, with the exception of one or two teachers, I feel they are great. The principal is very strong on displine and always available to talk to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 77% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 66% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 59%
Native American 9% 16%
Hispanic 4% 14%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Black 0% 9%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 140%N/A61%
Special education 211%N/A15%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kye Payne

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3128 South 63rd West Avenue
Tulsa, OK 74107
Website: Click here
Phone: (918) 445-6041

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Moriah Christian Academy
Sand Springs, OK





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT