Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Berryhill Es South
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to all Berryhill teachers & faculty for excellence in all around student development.

Berryhill Es South 5

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
Absolutely the best school system around. Excellent educational opportunities & extra curricular activities. Same school system from pk to 12th grade.

Berryhill Es South 3

Posted November 30, 2015
- a community member
It's actually comical seeing how stuck up some people of Berryhill school are. Your child will only fit in if they excel in sports/ cheer, your family was born & raised here, your parent is a teacher here, or if your family own a business and others can benefit off being your friend. You have to bring something to the table people want or you are written off. It's not just me who says this, others as well have complained about the school being so exclusive and some have even left because of it. Snoots are everywhere in all schools, but Berryhill is not big enough to have enough diverse kids with many interests. Ive seen many great kids who are just quiet, or socially awkward or have other interests, and they are not accepted. Its something to consider before moving into this district.

Berryhill Es South
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
I am very grateful to Mrs. Harbor for staying after class every Tuesday to tudor my daughter. Thank you for your time.

Berryhill Es South 5

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
I am at everyone of my child's school events if I can not make it my husband does. We try to make it a point to be involved as much as possible, To get to know the teachers, principal, ext. Our child was having problems keeping up in her class and her teacher stays an hour over every Tuesday to tudor her. Kudos to Berryhill. Also we wanted to get our daughter into cheer. We where not shure that we could afford it but we did and she loves it. The cheer squad and coaches treat her no different from the rest of the girls. We love Berryhill . We hope that our daughter graduates from Berryhill High School.

Berryhill Es South 3

Posted December 16, 2014
- a parent
I'm torn. On the one hand, I think there are some great teachers and it's a wonderful small community. I feel like the teachers work hard to listen to parents' concerns and want the kids to succeed. But, I have a list of dislikes too. 1) There are cliques for sure and breaking into those is hard. 2) I really dislike how the sports' programs work. Kids who don't cough up hundreds of dollars to sign up don't get to play from a very young age instead of it being part of the PE program (which is actually divided between PE, Music and Library rotating that hour everyday). 3) The school is continually asking for money for everything from art projects to popcorn days to presents for teachers to parties. While some are voluntary, if the kids don't have money, they are excluded from some things. 4) Lunch breaks and recess are way too short (15 min each?). I've been with my kids at lunch and don't know how they eat it all when standing in line for their lunch is part of the 15 min. 5) Way too much homework. My kids have been in several schools never having this much. I'm torn about leaving due to those dislikes because I've seen them affect my children negatively.

Berryhill Es South 5

Posted April 05, 2014
- a parent
We love Berryhill schools. Great teachers, administrators and parents. It is a small community and I know that the teachers would do anything to keep my children safe. We would highly recommend this school!

Berryhill Es South 1

Posted March 29, 2012
- a parent
The main focus is on the 'in crowd' and football. If your family didn't grow up here, then you aren't in the clique. There is a nice football field- but NO computer classes for elementary, NO gifted & talented program, and field trips average about 1 per year, or some years 0. Curriculum is mainly worksheets, repetitive & boring, with a learn it or don't attitude, very outdated styles of teaching and discipline. The staff does have high expectations for the students, but not many are willing to put effort into helping students reach the expectations. We've been extremely disappointed with this school.

Berryhill Es South
no rating

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
Berryhill Public Schools is a small district in a large city. Students get the attention needed to ensure success from grade to grade.

Berryhill Es South
no rating

Posted July 12, 2008
- a parent
I am very pleased with Berryhill Elementary. The Administration. teachers, staff, students and parents all work very well together. It feels like family! The daily behavior reports in Thursday folders are very informative. It is a system that is run throughout the entire elementary school and each child knows from the 1st day they attend Berryhill what is expected of them. Great school!! We love it!! Go Chiefs!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Berryhill Es South
3128 South 63rd West Avenue, Tulsa, OK  74107
(918) 445-6041
Last modified Berryhill Es South is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Berryhill Es South Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top