Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Tulsa, OK
Students enrolled: 446
 

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

12 reviews of this school


Berryhill High School 1

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
My child came home everyday with more homework than was possible to finish before their bedtime. Good teachers just not given the tools they need to teach adequately. They ask for money every week. My kids had a horrible experience at this school, I would not recommend this school to anyone.

Berryhill High School 1

Posted July 08, 2014
- a parent
Very clique-y - even the parents. Despite the small size, my child was never given any individual attention.

Berryhill High School 4

Posted December 11, 2013
- a parent
The state of Oklahoma gives this school an A grade! Nice community, as ling as you are one of them, if not, your child may or may not thrive but for the most part we have been happy.

Berryhill High School 3

Posted July 14, 2013
- a parent
Average. If you aren't a Berryhillian, you will find it hard to fit in. A lot of the staff went to school there and have been tied to Berryhill all their lives. The poor staff never leave because they are in the group, friends or related to the principle, and so on. Complaints fall on deaf ears. Everyone goes to church. If you don't go to their church, you will never be one of them. Sports, church are the main focus of the school . Even though its a public school, they get away with releasing the elementary school once a month for church across the street. If you don't send your child to the church, they sit in the gym. The administration works around the release time church so no class work is missed, they are all in on it. The high school does not offer physics, advanced math courses, except for online. Some years they offer spanish, other years not. They don't participate in any outside science, engineering , academic challenges. If your child is gifted, they will not be challenged here. Offered only basics, enough to get into a state college, no more. I advise you to not buy a $500,000 home in the nicer neighborhoods to go to this school.

Berryhill High School 1

Posted July 08, 2013
- a parent
This school has truly failed my children in nearly every way since they have moved into middle school and high school. We have had one or more kids in the district for eleven years. Both children are gifted or natonal honor society students. There are few to none electives in computer programming, technology, advanced maths or science. The district's solution is to take those courses through indpendent study online. One child has such trouble finding a trustworthy administrator, the child found it hard to return. It feels unsafe to the kids because of the many unresponsive or dismissed concerns brought to to the school's attention. High test scores on state tests do not a pleasant learning environment make! Many great people work in the district and live in the community.

Berryhill High School 4

Posted March 26, 2010
- a student
I am currently attending Berryhill, this is a fine school, they have some of the highest test scores in the state of oklahoma, the education is there IF the student wants it. A good example of this would be my class of 2010, the intelligence of this class ranges from none to students that have earned as high as a 34 on the ACT and have scored the highest score possible on the AP english test. The athletics in this school seems to vary year to year, we were state runner up in football this year. The music program is where the school truley excells, with 17 state championships in marching band, 12 in jazz band, and several sweepstakes awards for concert band (the sweepstakes is the highest award given to bands in Oklahoma) it is easy to see who represents Berryhill's excellence.

Berryhill High School 5

Posted August 26, 2008
- a parent
Excellent School, hometown environment, my kids love going to school at Berryhill. I have 3 boys and 2 girls and have never had any problems with any of the teachers or staff. Your child is not a number at Berryhill, they are a person!

Berryhill High School 1

Posted August 22, 2008
- a parent
This is school is above average for a public school but way below what we are able to provide for our kids.

Berryhill High School 5

Posted December 27, 2007
- a parent
Great School, I purchased my home just so my kids could attend. My oldest graduated a few years ago and with the teachers incouragement over the years he scored nearly a perfect score on his ACT and was able to choose which college he wanted to attend. I love the home town feel of this area and could not imagine living anywhere else. My son never played sports but really enjoyed the academic clubs. So athletic or not this is the best school.

Berryhill High School 2

Posted November 08, 2007
- a parent
i feel that overall, the teachers are among the worst that the state has to offer..... i also feel that the other school administration is a disappointment. it seems that all available funds go to the football program. seems to be little or no concern for academic extracurriculars. in my opinion if your kids are brain, not brawn, avoid this school district. on that note, if they excel in athletics there are still better choices.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Berryhill High School
3128 South 63rd West Avenue, Tulsa, OK  74107
(918) 445-6035
Last modified Berryhill High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Berryhill High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top