Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Memorial Junior High School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 1, 2014

Staff and administrators work with parents to get results for my kids We have been with the school through its changes and we see that the safety is much better now . We will continue on to memorial high school with the engineering program because of the start with the program served by mr. Clemmer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2012

This school has gone to the dumps!! At one time Memorial Jr. High, what use to be Byrd Middle School, was among the top schools in Tulsa. Since Mrs. Bunnell has taken over as principal and brought along her array of staff from Lewis and Clark, this school has changed tremendously. The staff seems to spend more time "hanging out" and sociallizing with other staff than teaching the children. Some of the teachers have been so inappropriate as to how they deal with my student I have questioned her being in that school at all. It has changed for the worst! Don't get me wrong there are some good teachers left they are just so few and far between there is NO purpose in enrolling your child. I live in the neighborhood and will continue sending my kids to the local elementary and high school, but as for Memorial Jr. High I will be finding another school for those years. As for the previous comments on this board, correct is all I can say. There are fights between students daily and no teachers or staff in the vicintity...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

The principle @ this school is very rude to the kids. She dont show any intrest in my student.as i was talkn to her she hung up in my face and i felt that was very rude.Our children are the future.. She is not the judge of my child.. i donot like Bryd middle school. The principle has shown to me to be prejudice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2010

There are some really good teachers at Byrd however I agree with a few of the earlier posts that said there were bullies. There was alot of "gang" related fighting this last year and it seems now days that most teachers are afraid to stand up to students that act that way. . Mr.Elledge is one of the few that isn't and he is the glue that keeps that school from falling apart completely. He is still making an amazing impact. Middle school years are so important that I have chose to sacrifice and put my daughter into private where she will not be impacted negatively.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2010

This school doesn't teach the proper education the kids need! My child has fell behind so much in just one semester! They are bullies at this school! I thought well this is a good school it looks nice and clean inside and i said okay its a good school, but it isn't i couldn't believe how much my 8th grader fell behind! Well i wouldn't send my child back!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

Bullies attended this school.Lack of supervision and attention provided.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

My child was in the special education system at Byrd MS & I am VERY disappointed with the lack of education he received there. His reading went down from a 3rd grade reading level to a 1st grade level. I had to enroll him into & pay for a Tutoring program that the school was supposed to offer, he is teachable, his reading level is coming back up. It is diffulcult to find a GOOD Special Education Program in TPS. He is now in the 9th grade & so far they have been bending backward to help him adjust and get him into the classes/courses that are going to help him be a sucess. I cannot speak on how good the school is for regular ed/typical kids but it isn't a good placement for special ed students. I was involved & we had a good IEP, it just wasn't followed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2006

My daughter has completed two years at Byrd and will begin her 3rd and final year this fall. We have been very pleased overall with Byrd. She has had some excellent teachers. Most of the teachers seem to care about their students and enjoy keeping in contact with the parents. I appreciate their willingness to answer e-mails and phone calls. Mr. Elledge is a prime example of this. He will do what it takes to help your chld learn. My daughter excelled under him. Hopefully this year will go as well as the last.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

I taught at Byrd Middle School right after graduation--loved it! Students were great and helpful--very few discipline problems. LOTS of school pride and PTA involvement!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 7, 2005

There are 2 things that bother me about this school so far. 1. This school does not provide adequate transportation to and from school. 2.There is rarely anyone in the parking lot to direct traffic leading to not only dangerous situations for the children but altercations between parents. Other than these problems (which I feel need immediate attention) I have no complaints as of yet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2004

Byrd Middle School is one of the top ten schools I would recommend to send your kids to. I want there for the being of the year this year and loved it, but I moved before the first semester. But just being there has put a great inpack on me.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
48%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
78%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science and writing. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 35% 10%
Hispanic 1 25% 13%
White 2 24% 58%
Two or more races 2 8% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 6% 17%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2 0% 0%
Native American 1 N/A 17%
Source: State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Special education 123%N/A15%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 271%N/A61%
Source: 1 State of Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, 2010-2011
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7502 East 57th St
Tulsa, OK 74145
Phone: (918) 833-9520

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Peace Academy
Tulsa, OK


Peace Academy
Tulsa, OK




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT