Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carver Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 641 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2014

I went to this for one year, one year only. I hated it so much that I wanted to write a book to vent about it. If I could I would rate this school a zero. You know why? Not many will hear this in a review, but the school had the streaming of obscenity that teachers seemed not to notice. As you will see in other reviews it talk about cherry picking - picking high grade students- what they don't tell you is they don't pick their students very well. For teachers and all people that don't know about carver and people in carver, the kids at carver and teachers cussed, talked about porn, teachers not being aware, distractions like crazy; students distracting me and other students in class, bully a lot, discrimination; students using racial slurs, teachers that don't really like their job; which I would prefer them to for other students that are still there, it put me under tremendous stress; the students would call me buck head and nerd,and etc... I can't say anymore , there is much more, than that because I'm running, but I'm running out of characters. All I have to say is don't go to this school if you want to be bullied and desensitized to violence a crude stuff.


Posted July 25, 2013

George Washington Carver Middle School is a great school to attend. The learning skills of these students is unbelievable. Carver does have "groups" but it's not like a bullying group or anything just like a group of friends to hang with. Carver is a great school for your children to attend. Also I do not believe that there is any bullying going on that the teachers don't know about. There are constantly teachers and staff members in the hall. Students will love Carver and I'm sure you would too! Come visit our website www.carver.tulsaschools.org!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2013

I am an eighth grader at carver middle school and I have really enjoyed my last three years here. This school is not for everyone, but for many kids I think it is a great fit. I have had teachers all three years that really try to get kids to be interested in the subject. They offer a wide variety of challenging classes. I think this school is a really great match for the right personality.


Posted October 11, 2012

I am very disappointed with this school. My son has been enduring repeated episodes of bullying and others taking his things and the teachers so far have done nothing but give him 75 pushups to do in gym for missing his uniform because it was taken that same day. The teacher was told this before giving the pushups. Other similar incidents have occurred with my son and other kids as well. Some kids swear and talk obscenely. Some have been heard soliciting inappropriate behaviors from others in the hallway. Academics are OK, but not much better than other schools. My other son goes to a public school in the area and is in advanced classes and has way less trouble with bullying or other problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2012

Well I am a 7th grader going to carver middle school.I have been to al l the summer events so far and i think the school is strict which is a good thing and the teachers tell it how it is. This school is a very succesful school and i am really happy to be going there.


Posted September 19, 2011

Carver is a good school so far as academics but some of the teachers and staff are not held accountable for the way they talk to the children. As a parent I feel like certain children were able to get away with some things while others were not. Academically I recommend carver but some of the teachers and staff need to be checked. One of the janitors was allowed to take things from the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

I am a sixth grader at carver and let me tell you, some of the boys there need to learn a thing or two about manners. Risque is not an appropriate word for these boys. The teachers just watch! Even though I love the acedemics and that it's bully free, these teachers need an attitude adjustment!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2010

I'm an 8th grader and carver is ok but teachers have bad attitudes and students are bully-ish.Janitors and teacher staff also take your things if you buy from the vending machines or if they see your cell phone.Teachers pick on the 'good kids' and barely say anything to the 'bad ones' also they have students there that have repeated grades and have football players playing with grades below a c average. And no I do not reccommend carver at all...and by the way they let every single athletic student into Booker T. Washington and some of them had 2.0 gpa when your supposed to have at least a 2.5 gpa to get into Booker T. Most of the students with good grades did not get into BTW. BTW is not as good as there were if they let students in that do not have the academic standards.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2009

I think Carver is a pretty good school. I'm currently an 8th grader there. But I feel like they don't give you the chance to express your individuality. If you try to wear out of uniform socks, jeans that aren't blue (on the few jeans days that we have), or things such as arm warmers you are forced to take them off. But the teachers actually care about your grades. They aren't just there to baby sit you. But there are teachers that I think should be fired because of their terrible attitudes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2009

this is my second year at carver and being here has been really great so far though they are way too uptight on uniforms but oh well but yeah the teachers are rreally good way and they have a great way of teaching and were probly a great group of kids cause its not like we have fights every day but they seperate the grades way too much its a good school though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2009

Tulsa, Ok Carver Middle School has did me a great job of unsatisfactory. In this year, the students that attend Carver temd to be very bully-ish. I have had a hard time connecting techers. Take things into consideration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I love Carver. My son is in his 2nd year there and has gorwn so much. Academics are first no matter what. They have increased the requirements to play sports here, your child can carry nothing lower than a C to be eligible. That is not a C average, no grade lower than a C. If you set the standard high the kids will rise to meet tham and Carver if proof of that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2008

my child loves going to carver....it has a very good academic program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

Carver is a very good school.They make learning fun like dressing up for black history month and more. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2008

I'm a 6th grader on the dance team at carver, i really like it because there is sytem of give and take because if you have any grades below a c in any class you do not get to participate in sportign events. The ciriculum is awesome and the teachers are too. And our school facility is fairly new and is always clean. Go Wildcats!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2008

Carver is a good school they care more about our grades there instead of the athletics progam. If you are not keepimg your grades they will not let you play. And I think it is very important about the grades if you want to be someone you must at all times keep your grades up to fulfill your dreams in life!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2007

I am a current student in 8th grade, and I think Carver is a great school. I enjoy the curriculum (but what student actually enjoys school?), and the teachers are very supportive toward students. The teachers actually care, and I think it is an overall good school. So bottom line, good school go here if you live in Tulsa OK.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2007

I am an alumni of Carver Middle School. My only complaint is that the kids do a lot of projects. I think its a great school. My son is a sixth grader at Carver this year. I would recommend Carver.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2006

The academic programs are good, and this school really prepares students for the challenges of high school. It provides a diverse environment, and forces students to open up to a variety of different people. The teachers are caring and supportive. I would recommend this school to anyone who asked me about it.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

214 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2012.

214 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

209 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

209 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
94%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 89% in 2012.

209 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2012.

190 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

194 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2012.

194 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 77% in 2012.

194 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 95% in 2012.

194 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % satisfactory or better

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Oklahoma used the Oklahoma Core Curriculum Tests (OCCT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, grades 5 and 8 in science and writing, grade 5 in social studies, grade 7 in geography, and grade 8 in U.S. history and government. The OCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Oklahoma. The goal is for all students to score at or above the satisfactory level on the test.

Source: Oklahoma State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 41% 10%
White 32% 54%
Hispanic 13% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6% 18%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

624 East Oklahoma Place
Tulsa, OK 74106
Phone: (918) 925-1420

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT